Skip to content

22 weeks … Like cartwheels in the sun…

March 2, 2013

It’s funny, I was looking back over some of my earlier belly pictures (the nonexistent “belly” pictures, one might say), and I have noticed something interesting. In my facial expressions, you can absolutely map out how I’m feeling about the baby.

At first, my expressions dance between abject fear and incredulity.

Baby Q OMG WTF?!?!

Baby Q OMG WTF?!?!

Jeez I was skinny. Anyways, after 22 weeks (well, 18 weeks since this photo was taken), I have started really coming to terms with how exciting this is, instead of just always worrying about how this little surprise was going to wreak havoc on our lives. Yes, I’ve always loved kids, and yes, I was always happy to hear that we had a little one on the way, but still: the fear was almost insurmountable for months.

I’m happy to report now, though, that I seem to have hit what I’m now (as of 10 minutes ago) calling “The Mommy Plateau.” It’s the feeling of euphoria you get during that special time of the second trimester, when your belly is clearly of the baby variety, but you’re not big enough to really be in any pain or discomfort, and your hormones are in high gear.

Matt is responsible for taking most of my weekly belly pictures, because yes, I am THAT mom, and I love seeing myself through his eyes. Matt’s not shy around a camera, and when he takes photos for me, he takes lots of photos for me. His specialty is the stop-motion, flip book-style shots, where I’m doing something (usually grumbling, or rolling my eyes) that he finds funny, and he just keeps taking pictures “click click click.”

Matt took a series last week that pretty much show exactly how I’m feeling right now – elated, happy, and fun. So I thought I’d share them with you. 🙂 Happy Saturday!

It's like falling in love all over again. And you still get a registry!

It’s like falling in love all over again. And you still get a registry!

There’s a million serious things that have been going on – fights with insurance companies (not all baby-related), really crummy medical advice, work drama, life drama, space drama, whatever drama…but right now, I don’t want to think about any of that. Right now, I want to (metaphorically) do cartwheels in the sun. We’re getting a little GIRL, y’all! And she’s all our own!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

