Skip to content

Double Chocolate Layer Cake – Adventures in Married Photography

January 21, 2013

So, with all the hoopla surrounding the big event in our lives, Matt and I sometimes forget to take time to focus on just the two of us. I’m not going to act all fancypants and say it was on purpose, but this weekend we had an excellent opportunity to play around with something purely relationship-based: Married Couple Blogging.

I had a HUGE craving (not a preggo-craving, just a regular one) for chocolate cake last week, and it occurred to me that I’ve never made a chocolate layer cake from scratch (or any other way). I’ve made countless cupcakes, cookies, and pies, but never a from-scratch layer cake. So, I googled a few recipes, and settled on this sumptuous looking recipe from Smitten.

The cake was an unqualified success. The photography? Not quite an unqualified failure, but certainly leaves room for improvement.

First of all, our kitchen is absolutely tiny. It’s galley-style, and just wide enough for two people to pass one another, navel to navel. (We’re talking “I can smell what you had for lunch” navel-to-navel).

Second of all, there’s limited counterspace, which means while I’m using the Kitchen-Aid, there’s a refrigerator on my left, and I’m right-handed, which means my very own paparazzo can only stand to my right, where his camera is blocked completely by my enormous elbow.

And, finally, I was hit with a big ol’ case of “Lazy” yesterday, which meant I was still in my crummy pajamas, hair in a bun, looking angry for most of the photoshoot.

All that being said, marital crises were averted, puppies in the kitchen were duly spoiled, and delicious, delicious cake was had by all. We even had a chance to share it with the in-laws, since we spent the day in Crockett taking care of Daisy’s annual puppydog shots (she did not get cake, though she definitely deserved it, and hasn’t quite forgiven us yet).

Without further ado, I give you: The MoorQuatt’s first attempt at couples’ foodblogging.

Notes to the reader:

1. Chocolate is NOT GOOD for dogs. Our puppydogs are always around the kitchen, ready to lend a helping hand (or tongue) when we have spills or mishaps. For the most part, we’re OK with this. With things like chocolate cake batter, it’s a constant battle to keep an eye on what they’ve been eating. There are a couple of shots of the dogs sneaking a quick nip of cake batter, but I don’t want any of you to worry: we monitor our babies VERY closely, and they were not allowed to ingest enough of anything to hurt them. So don’t worry.

2. Once upon a time, a friend of mine (Melissa!) called me out for not including my failures as well as my successes. The cake in these pictures was delicious, but not perfect – the frosting wasn’t perfect, and our timing with the photography is definitely in need of some work. That being said, I’m sharing it with you because I’m excited about the fun we’re having! So enjoy it!

3. And finally: the Me in these pictures. I’ve made it a point in my life to try to be more “authentic” (buzzword, anyone?). But I struggled a bunch with this on today’s post. Part of me shudders at the fact that I’m wearing my straight-up home-alone PJs (they are not attractive), and I am sans makeup, sans hairwashing, and immediately post-nap. But in the interest of being exactly who I am, and doing what I can to put a stop to the fakery and self-comparison so rampant in today’s blogworld (the whole “comparing your every day life to someone else’s Photoshopped, edited highlights reel” thing), I’m socking it to you in un-edited format. So, if you’re scared by what a real woman looks like when she’s baking, this post is not for you. But in case you’ve always been wondering what Cupcake looks like when she’s baking, this is a pretty accurate representation. 🙂

Chocolate melting into delicious coffee...delicious!

Chocolate melting into delicious coffee…delicious!

It is nice to have someone else taking the action shots, but we're still working on our coordination. (I.e. "Hey Lisa, hold still for a minute while I refocus the camera on your teaspoon, instead of the salt box.")

It is nice to have someone else taking the action shots, but we’re still working on our coordination. (I.e. “Hey Lisa, hold still for a minute while I refocus the camera on your teaspoon, instead of the salt box.”)

It pours LIKE BUTTAH...milk.

It pours LIKE BUTTAH…milk.

Yup. Barefoot and pregnant. That's me.

Yup. Barefoot and pregnant. That’s me.

Don't yell at me. It was just a tiny taste.

Don’t yell at me. It was just a tiny taste.

 

This is what happens when you lost your plastic bowl cover/funnel in the move. We'll be finding it before the next one...

This is what happens when you lost your plastic bowl cover/funnel in the move. We’ll be finding it before the next one…

Batter it up!

Batter it up!

THIEF!

THIEF!

 

It's good to be the cameraman...

It’s good to be the cameraman…

Kitchen helpers. Or, "Why I don't have to mop my floors after baking."

Kitchen helpers. Or, “Why I don’t have to mop my floors after baking.”

Who's that handsome devil in my mixing bowl?

Who’s that handsome devil in my mixing bowl?

See my cute little piglet calendar? I loves me some piglets. (Jenny Rosen!!!)

See my cute little piglet calendar? I loves me some piglets. (Jenny Rosen!!!)

What is it about chocolate cake that gets everyone all excited??

What is it about chocolate cake that gets everyone all excited??

Mater is an EXCELLENT helper. (And yes, I washed my hands.)

Mater is an EXCELLENT helper. (And yes, I washed my hands.)

 

You knew this was coming. And no, it's not self-inflicted. Unless you call being married to a CHILD self-inflicted. In which case, you win.

You knew this was coming. And no, it’s not self-inflicted. Unless you call being married to a CHILD self-inflicted. In which case, you win.

You reap what you sow, big man.

You reap what you sow, big man.

Just look at those crazed cake batter eyes!

Just look at those crazed cake batter eyes!

BOO!

BOO!

But Lisa, what about that cake on the left? Oh, that little guy? Don't you worry about that little guy. Matt and I had that little guy sans frosting for dinner and breakfast. :)

But Lisa, what about that cake on the left? Oh, that little guy? Don’t you worry about that little guy. Matt and I had that little guy sans frosting for dinner and breakfast. 🙂

I found a really cool link to a video showing how to cut a cake into layers from Zoe Bakes. You should look it up, because the techniques involved are more in-depth than you'd think!

I found a really cool link to a video showing how to cut a cake into layers from Zoe Bakes. You should look it up, because the techniques involved are more in-depth than you’d think!

Tri-layer excitement! I had to flip the top layer upside down because it was a bit uneven, but you can see the top layer just sort of smooshes down into the ganache. (Yes, "smooshes." It's a technical term.)

Tri-layer excitement! I had to flip the top layer upside down because it was a bit uneven, but you can see the top layer just sort of smooshes down into the ganache. (Yes, “smooshes.” It’s a technical term.)

Ironically, that was not nearly enough icing. But hoo-boy, was it rich.

Ironically, that was not nearly enough icing. But hoo-boy, was it rich.

Gateau fini! Doneskies.

Gateau fini! Doneskies.

 

Cake in the park is the best.

Cake in the park is the best.

Daisy tried her best to get a slice of cake, but despite the antics, she was shut down.

Daisy tried her best to get a slice of cake, but despite the antics, she was shut down.

Not as dense as it looks, but SUPER-rich. Delicious!

Not as dense as it looks, but SUPER-rich. Delicious!

Delicious layers.

Delicious layers.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    January 21, 2013 9:42 pm

    I think I’ve seen some of your pics before – maybe here? http://youtu.be/2H5NauApx1g?t=28s
    The bit lasts like 7 seconds. Anyways, the cake looks amazing!

Trackbacks

  1. White Chocolate Macadamia Cake with Raspberries and White Chocolate Buttercream Frosting | Simply Sophisticated Cooking

Leave a Reply

