Skip to content

Y’all don’t mind if I just skip showers til the second trimester, right?

December 5, 2012

First of all, I should address the fact that this blog, while originally intended as a recipe and useful-tip sharing tool, has morphed into a gigantic stream of consciousness for me. I’m a little torn about this, because the blogs I’ve loved the most over the years have maintained at the very least a specific topic stream or style, and I’m afraid that allowing this blog to morph at will is going to confuse readers.

That being said, it’s also intended as a tool of expression, and for me, I express when I feel moved by something. Something humorous, touching, kind, sad, or tasty. So, I am coming to terms with the fact that this blog may no longer fit into a category, or mold, aside from “Narcissistic ramblings of a self-centered cupcake fiend.” (Hopefully not quite that bad, but I’ve seen a lot of writing on the subject of social media and narcissism and it’s got me a little scared)

The other side of this particular coin is the volume of people I know personally who do read this blog who view Mommy-blogs in a certain…shall we say, unflattering light. I have been blessed with the opportunity to know and befriend people from literally all walks of life. I currently have on my mental Rolodex (yes, Children of the 2000s, once upon a time people kept these on their desks) men and women with jobs that vary from sales associate to web designer to law enforcement officer to gut-puller (relic of the chicken industry – don’t ask). People with kids, people without kids who want them, and people without kids who literally despise any ounce of mommy-ness with every fiber of their beings. (Luckily I don’t think I know anyone with kids who falls into this last category…though maybe you’re out there.)

It is this last category of person that I’m concerned with today…my life has changed, forever, with the news that I’m pregnant. Before, I was a little skeptical, and dare I say…critical…gulp…of people who went “all baby, all the time.” From the outside, you really don’t understand how suddenly literally everything becomes about the alien growing in your uterus. (HA! I just said uterus. I think I’ve lost half of you now.)

Better writers than I have tried to bridge the gap between the baby-centric and the baby-phobic, and if I’m being honest, I’ve fallen on both sides of the fence at different stages in my life. All I can say to my friends and readers who are not in the baby-centric stage is that at this moment in my life, everything I do, everything I say, directly relates to my impending motherhood. I fully understand how it feels to be totally uninterested in anything baby-related, and while I respect your right to feel that way, I am, from now until this ride finishes, changed.

Which means that the theme of the blog is going to change. I hope I can keep you interested with my voice, and humor. If I can’t, I understand. No hard feelings here. Obviously I won’t do anything so trite as to say my pregnancy is the most special thing in the whole wide world (not that I can think of anything even REMOTELY as interesting…), and when the time comes, I won’t be that mom who says her kid is the best/brightest/most adorable (but let’s be honest – my baby will win).

All I can say is, this gift of life has thrown me for a loop, and I ask patience and positivity while I learn and explore such a crazy curveball of love and life. And if you get bored with the mommy talk, feel free to visit one of my fave bloggers, TheBloggess. She’s a mom too, but her posts are more riddled with…booze slushies. 🙂 Also cursing – be careful at work.

In any case, I am so lucky to be able to share all this with you – you guys make a huge difference to me, and I love and appreciate every baby-centric, baby-phobic, and baby-neutral one of you. Muah.

And now back to the title of this post…I have discovered that my morning sickness is directly correlated with when (and if) I shower. I mean, it happens at other times also, but I have noticed that 9 times out of 10, if I’m feeling medium-to-OK, taking a shower or bath, with a water temp of anything but lukewarm to cold, will catapult me into retching and running to the bathroom. So, I’m just going to quit showering altogether. It’s December, that’s cool, right? Right.

2 more weeks til the end of the first trimester. 2 more weeks til the end of the first trimester. 2 more weeks til the end of the first trimester…

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Monica permalink
    December 5, 2012 2:47 pm

    I’m only able to shower every other day since I can’t stand longer than a few minutes at a time. And I got a shower seat. Seriously. It’s a lifesaver. $20, I highly recommend it!

  2. December 5, 2012 9:38 pm

    Hmm… I never thought of showering be an issue, I mean I don’t especially enjoy it, but it doesn’t make me sick. I think I’m in a separate group than described I want a baby and I like babies, but sometimes I don’t like the babies’ parents…. haha I’ll continue to read for now 🙂

Leave a Reply

