Skip to content

Small Town Living – Texas Blueberry Festival!

June 10, 2012
Texas Blueberry Festival!

Texas Blueberry Festival!

This weekend I had the pleasure of going to the Texas Blueberry Festival, located in historic Nacogdoches (pronounced “Nackahdoshes”). Nacogdoches is the “oldest town in Texas,” and is full of beautiful buildings, gorgeous trees, and of course, the friendly and kind people who seem to be everywhere in smalltown East Texas. I will say – living in a small town occasionally has its perks. These people really take their festivals seriously.

This one had a really cool car show!

This one had a really cool car show!

It’s not just about the activities associated with the festival itself. Sure, the “Soda and Sweet Shoppe” set up in the lobby of the Regions Bank was a little hokey… and maybe the street musicians were just the slightest bit off-key… but the enthusiasm of the locals, and visitors, for local produce and goods was completely infectious!

Matt and I weren’t alone in our sojourn to Nacogdoches. My folks came in with their puppydog, Bear, who had a ton of fun barking at people, sniffing legs, and laying in the icy cold runoff from the giant tubs of water bottles the festival provided (for free!). We humans had fun too, drinking blueberry lemonade, eating blueberry shortcake, and at the end of the day, we hauled twelve pints of blueberries home.

That is an attractive hat. Also husband.

Big hats run in our family. As does skin cancer. As does a clear understanding of cause and effect.

Big hats run in our family. As does skin cancer. As does a clear understanding of cause and effect.

I’m so glad I got a chance to see downtown Nac (as the locals call it) at such a vibrant time. There were tons of little cafes (well, OK, there were only like 2, but in a small town that’s like tons) with adorable bistro tables set up on the sidewalk pavement. In today’s East Texas 96 degree heat, I sure wouldn’t want to sit outside, but when Fall comes, I know exactly where I’ll be. With a cup of coffee and a slice of apple pie, greeting my server by name and reveling in the big joys of small town living.

I will continue to try to update the blog as often as I can, but I don’t have access at work and at the moment my job is really stressful. (Long story, but suffice it to say, I am now working as a Safety professional for a food manufacturing plant…running accident investigations and safety inspections. That’s right. I wear a hard hat. And a hairnet. At the same time.) As soon as I can find a way to balance work and hang on to the joy of being a newlywed (working for a collective 20 hours a day with dead chickens makes ours an interesting relationship) and also find time to blog, I will give you my full attention. 🙂

Have a great week, everybody!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Robert permalink
    June 12, 2012 10:41 am

    Yes, those are nice hats! And you both looked “marvelous”.

Leave a Reply

