Skip to content

The Chocolate Bar: Revisited

March 31, 2012

So, over a year ago, my friend Jenny and I visited The Chocolate Bar in Houston, on a whim. I blogged about it here, but more importantly, about a year ago, I took my then-boyfriend, soon-to-be fiance and now husband there, to give him a chance to try out the goodness.

The occasion for this inauguration to the Chocolate Bar was the first Meet between my then-boyfriend and my cousin Patrick, his wife Emily, and their kids, my niece and nephew (Don’t question the Cupcake family tree. It’s all made up anyway.). Matt and I had only been dating for about three months, so we were both a little nervous, despite the fact that we’d known each other for 8 years. Matt and I arrived in town, had dinner with Emily and Hannah, and then went to watch Connor play baseball, where Matt was to meet Patrick.

The game went well, and afterwards, Matt and Patrick finally got a chance to chat. The four of us were standing together, getting to know one another, when my niece, deciding that we’d spent enough time talking to each other, took my hand, looked up at Matt speculatively and said, addressing the crowd, “Aunt Lulu? Are you gonna marry him?”

…crickets…

“Well, Hannah…that’s a question you better ask him.”

Spoiler: Yep.

But back to the cake. Always back to the cake. Matt and I had such a great time that day, and the cake was so good, that when it came time to pick the groom’s cake, it was a no-brainer.

Love. Photo credits to family friend John Scates

Love. Photo credits to family friend John Scates

Now. The groom’s cake ended up being plural, one Uncle Daryl’s (the one you see here – chocolate on chocolate, with toffee bits in the between-layers), and one Any Day’s a Holiday (chocolate and yellow, alternating, with chocolate ice box frosting). The only problem? The groom never had a bite of either cake! Travesty!

To remedy the fact that my groom never got to try his delicious cake at his own wedding, on a recent trip to Houston for our family’s annual pilgrimage to the Houston Livestock Show and Rodeo, my mom and I made an executive decision: LET MATT HAVE CAKE!

And he did. Have cake. And it was good.

And he did. Have a vast quantity of cake. And it was good.

When we explained the reason for our visit to one of the co-owners, who happened to be serving us at the time, he cut us off a wedge of cake SO big that even with me, my mom, and Matt working on it, we still had enough cake left to call fortwo to-go boxes.

Moist chocolate cake, chocolate icing, toffee bits, and ganache. And then, when he served it, he topped it off with even more chocolate syrup and toffee bits!

Moist chocolate cake, chocolate icing, toffee bits, and ganache. And then, when he served it, he topped it off with even more chocolate syrup and toffee bits!

As if all that wasn’t enough, my mom, who has never met a stranger in her life, made such friends with the gentleman, that before we’d finished [eating 1/3 of the huge cake slice], he brought us over a box of this, on the house:

Texas. Frito. Brittle.

Texas. Frito. Brittle.

Milk chocolate. Pretzels. Toasted Texas Pecans. And Fritos. OHMYGOSHNESS, where on EARTH have you been all my life!?

I cannot even BEGIN to tell you how decadent, salty, crunchy and addictive this stuff was. I just about died.

So if you’re ever in the Houston Area, make sure The Chocolate Bar makes it on your list of places to stop. The folks are super-friendly and the sweets are amazing. Just remember to ask for a to-go box.

The Chocolate Bar

River Oaks: 1835 West Alabama

Rice Village (where I always go): 2521 University Blvd

http://theoriginalchocolatebar.com

One Comment leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    April 15, 2012 3:47 pm

    Yum! I think I’ll insist next time I’m in Houston for my area staff team meeting with InterVarsity. We’ve gone to Rice Village for lunch a couple times. How could my staff team be so cruel as to not introduce me to someplace as heavenly sounding as the Chocolate Bar!?!

Leave a Reply

