Skip to content

I am slowly becoming British…

March 30, 2012

I have now watched the entirety of Downton Abbey, Jeeves and Wooster, Green Wing, The Librarians (technically Australian, but there’s a few Brits on there), Doctor Who, Torchwood, Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, and am halfway through Wives and Daughters.

I only mention this because lately I’ve been catching myself speaking British at Matthew. And at the dogs. And it’s a ridiculous feeling to be calling at your dogs in a Cockney accent, only to look up in your front yard and realize that the rednecks at the machine shop directly behind your humble abode don’t have a clue what’s going on.

In other news, Matt and I are moving soon! He’s almost finished at A&M, and he’s accepted a job in Lufkin. This means that instead of a Cupcake in Paris…we shall soon be Fruitcakes in Lufkin! Ha.

And lest you think I’m just going to brush over the year-long absence of blogging, I’m here to say…yes, I very well am. šŸ™‚

In my defense, over the past year I have:

1. Become engaged.

2. Planned a wedding.

3. Quit a very time- and sanity-consuming job.

4. Planned a Parisian honeymoon (YEAH!)

5. Practiced signing my new last name. (It starts with a Q!!!!!!!! Is that not the most awesome thing ever?!)

6. Adopted a 17 lb. puppy darling.

7. GOT MARRIED to the best man in the world. Also the cutest. Also the beard-iest.

Among many more very mundane things. šŸ™‚

Ā 

So, here I am. Back again, with a hope and a prayer that I’ll have more energy and focus on things to be able to share them with you. I plan to take Lufkin by storm, which will hopefully involve many trips to local farmers’ markets (er…market. It is a tiny town, after all), a new camera (if Matt and I can become unpoor enough to get one), and various cultural activities (very much looking forward to this year’s Neches River Rendezvous. It’s a 10-mile canoe trip I have no intention on participating in, but one where I may go and watch other people exerting themselves. I’ve been rereading that sentence for five minutes and I am still unclear as to what the grammar should be. It really has been too long…).

I’ve discovered over the past year and a half that a lot of my desire to share my food with you all online came from an inability to share my food with someone on a daily basis. Having a hungry husband, who’s a more than decent cook in his own right, to eat my ridiculous concoctions means I spend less time taking photos, and more time arguing over whose method of kneading the bread produces less of a ridiculously floury mess.

So, the face of the blog will be changing a bit over the next few months. I know it’s a departure, so I’ll beg your indulgence as I try to find a way to balance the time it will take to blog with the other joys in my life. And hey – Matt is a FANTASTIC photographer, so maybe we can become a Smitten Kitchen-style food-blogging duo, with his shots and my words…

In any case, I’m back. A little bit older, a little bit chubbier, and a ridiculously huge bit happier. šŸ™‚

See? Tiny puppy, and my husband has photo-chops. :)

See? Tiny puppy, and my husband has photo-chops. šŸ™‚

Ā 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    March 30, 2012 2:09 pm

    I’m so glad you’re back to blogging! I can’t wait to hear stories from Lufkin – Kyle’s stories from Cookville are priceless.

  2. March 30, 2012 6:03 pm

    SUCH a cute puppy. And a cute Lisa. I’m glad for your return to blogland!

    • March 30, 2012 7:10 pm

      Thanks, Stefanie. You’re actually the reason I finally got up the effort to get back on the horse. šŸ™‚ Sorry Winston’s ear got hurt!

  3. Rob permalink
    April 1, 2012 4:45 am

    Omg! The world is back on it’s axis… and is a happier place… Look forward to seeing the next “chapter” of the blog šŸ™‚

    • April 1, 2012 11:24 am

      I am so, SO thrilled to see that you didn’t give up on me, Rob! Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

