Skip to content

Brain malfunction: EXPLOSION OF AWESOME!!! (Updated)

December 20, 2010

I was going to post today about “Things I’ve Learned from Working in a Restaurant,” but thanks to an incredibly timely comment from my friend Jessica, I have just registered my attendance at…

“The Snap of Citrus in Desserts” – a cooking class taught by DAVID LEBOVITZ in TEXAS!!!

AAaaaaaaAAAAAaaaaaaAAAAAAAaaaaaaagh!

I am SO excited I am literally vibrating in my chair! Wait, wait, wait. Who is David Lebovitz, you ask? [while exposing yourself as NOT an obsessive fan of my blog?]

Well, he’s this ice cream guy, the guy who introduced me to macarons, the brainchild behind my giving post, my source for those maple creams I just could not seem to fix,  and gougères, baby, gougères.

Not to mention he’s actually this super famous pastry chef and author, with such phenomenal recipes as his butterscotch pudding, which I made last week:

Butterscotch pudding

and Chocolate Idiot Cake, and salted butter caramel ice cream, and… oh! and did I mention he lives in Paris??

Ladies and gentlemen, this man has the life I want. He lives in an adorable flat with roof access in Paris, with a hot Frenchman, and he writes about and generates pastries for. a. living.

And now, at long last, I can see him IN ACTION and IN PERSON!!! I’m so excited I’m so excited I’m so excited I’m so excited…

!!!

So, what does this mean for you? HELLO! Pictures! And possibly recipes. And jealousy. 🙂 Ha!

UPDATED

Here is the menu for the class:

  • Meyer Lemon-Buttermilk Ice Cream Sandwiches with Nonfat Gingersnaps;
  • Spiced Hot Chocolate Cakes with Caramelized White Chocolate, Candied Tangerines & Dark Chocolate Shards;
  • Goat Cheese Soufflés with Mixed Citrus Compote in Sparkling Champagne & Yuzu Jelly;
  • and Tangerine Floating Island with Blood Orange Caramel.

Did your head just explode? Cuz mine did.

HECK YES.

 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Robert Moorman permalink
    December 20, 2010 4:51 pm

    but he’s FFRENCH! No wonder there are desserts with “goat cheese” and “non-fat” (does it really matter what? non-fat doesn’t go in dessert) and “shards!” I guarantee you that none of that will top a toll house chocolate chip cookie for pure unadulterated awesomness – to use your vernacular.

  2. Emily Gunn permalink
    December 23, 2010 5:13 pm

    HOLYYYYYYYYYYYYY CUPCAKES! I am so excited for you! Pleeeeeeeeeeease recreate the meyer-lemon ice cream sandwiches for meeeeeeeeeee!

Leave a Reply

