Skip to content

The Chocolate Bar – A Houston Treat!

October 25, 2010

Well hi there!

I’m so glad to see you all. I’ve missed you.

You see, I’ve spent the past week in Blackout Brenham, working my tail off at my new job as a server at the restaurant in a local vineyard and resort (yay!) and not being online (boo). But I have been thinking about you, and I am working on finding a way to get internet out there, it’s just super-expensive and a giant pain in the you-know-what.

SIGH. I know, I know. You don’t care. You’re just here for delicious food pictures and quippy quotes about baking. Well, LUCKILY for YOU, you get some today!

Despite the fact that I haven’t had much time to get online, I did manage to have at least one free day in the past week of whirlwind training (including a double shift, one table who had to send their food back twice and three flambé desserts prepared tableside by yours truly) to go play in Houston with one of my old high school friends, Jenny!

Jenny and I had a delicious meal of lamb hash and lobster roll at a restaurant called Backstreet Café, but afterwards we were hankering for something sweet (read: I was dying for something delicious, and Jenny was kind enough to assist in my quest). At first we tried to go to Sweet Lola, a cute little yogurt bar in Midtown, whose owner is the mother of one of the ushers from a wedding I was in a couple weeks ago. But, unfortunately for us, Sweet Lola’s not open on Mondays, so we’ll have to give it a shot another time.

In lieu of yogurt, Jenny suggested we give The Chocolate Bar in the Rice Village a shot. I’d been to The Chocolate Bar before, but it had been a while, so I figured it would be neat to see their new shop.

Oh my goodness am I glad we did.

Look at those cakes!

The shop was amazing – they had cakes the size of my HEAD (and bigger, really), with fancy names like…

the Night and Day cake...

and like…

the Any Day's a Holiday cake!

They had a GIANT pastry case that was basically the full length of a regular bar that was packed full of pastries, pies, cakes, and custards, all featuring chocolate in some form or fashion. However, given the persistent high temperatures in Texas these days, I was ready for some ice cream. And the Chocolate Bar? Has got the most AWESOME chocolate-themed ice cream bar. Flavors included peach and white chocolate, a milk chocolate with every variety of nut you can think of, and this one:

White. Chocolate. Pumpkin. With crunchy bits of regular chocolate.

White. Chocolate. Pumpkin. With crunchy bits of regular chocolate.

White chocolate pumpkin ice cream? Sign me up! (Picture credits to Jenny!)

And with that, I have to go get ready for work again. (Working weekends – what a life!) Hopefully I’ll get a chance to take some photos at work, so you can see my digs!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Geoff permalink
    October 25, 2010 12:48 pm

    Ah yes, the Chocolate Bar is pretty great! What’s awesome is to go with a LARGE group of people who have agred beforehand to share what they get! But it’s very easy to OVERORDER when you get cake and it’s a shame to waste!

    This reminds me tha tI need to introduce you to a coffee shop called Agora one of these days.

  2. missy bendiksen permalink
    October 26, 2010 2:23 pm

    try the frozen yogurt place next door to the chocolate place: Swirl.
    it’s great.
    your old school nurse

Trackbacks

  1. Happy Thanksgiving, y’all! « A Cupcake in Paris
  2. The Chocolate Bar: Revisited « A Cupcake in Paris

Leave a Reply

