Skip to content

Pictureless posts just feel so…naked.

October 8, 2010

So I don’t have any brilliant photos to share with you, because I haven’t been TAKING any brilliant photos. What have I been doing with all this free time I suddenly have on my hands due to lack of job?

Applying.

For.

Jobs.

Will the madness never end!? I’ve been in Texas almost a MONTH now, and still have no job! Y’all – it’s harsh out here. Money’s short (my own, and the money of the people who should be hiring me), time’s a-wasting, and Paris seems further than ever.

BUT, you ask, am I giving up on my dream?? Am I accepting defeat and resigning myself to a desk job forever?

Well, I appreciate your concern, my doves, and guess what? HECK NO. I’ve got an interview this very afternoon at a well-established vineyard and winery (pleasehireme, pleasehireme, pleasehireme) that I would LOVE to work at, so the plan marches on.

Other things I’m working on: I’m developing a (slightly darker themed) literary blog, something that gives me a chance to be all pretentious-like and talk in big, exaggerated sentences about the meaningfulness of a phrase. I haven’t decided if I will link the two blogs yet, because I want to maintain some element of anonymity, but given my inability to keep a secret, and the fact that I’m already telling you about it, I would imagine I’ll be sharing it with you anyways.

On the Crafty Cupcake front, I’m going to finish those silly napkins, and then I will make myself a dress. Or at least a skirt. Or maybe just hem a skirt. Or just fix the hem on a skirt that broke. Whatever.

And the most IMPORTANT and RELEVANT thing to you people, my dear following? I’m starting an Etsy shop!!! I’ll put the link in a future post, but the idea is that I will be selling my baked goods by mail-order, through the Etsy server. I’m still working out some kinks (e.g. shipping methods that work, decorating the shop website, etc.), but when I’m ready to show it off, you’ll be the first to know.

And that, dear readers, sums up my life over the past few weeks. I’ve applied for more jobs than I can count, had a few interviews, and am still waiting to hear back from everyone. I am learning a lot about myself through this process, how much of my sense of self-worth was tied up in my “status” at work (you want a lesson in humility? Go to an alumni networking event where current students are looking for jobs and say: “Well, I don’t currently have a job…but I just applied at Starbucks…”).

I’m also continuing to realize the value of a good, solid support system. Whether it be my parents who are literally carrying me through this process (free rent, anyone?), my friends in other states who are constantly sending me job ideas and stirring the pot of creativity (Merideth and Victoria!!!), or an old family friend who called me up out of the blue to tell me that he’s impressed with my guts and a little bit jealous, they all help me keep going in an environment that could very easily lead to a serious case of depression.

So keep up the prayers, if you don’t mind, and the positivity – I’m doing my part to make this happen, so at this point I’m opening the rest up to God and whatever he’s got planned for me! (Gosh I hope it’s pie.) Carry on!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Heather Thomson permalink
    October 24, 2010 10:21 pm

    I know how you feel about the job thing. For awhile there I didn’t want to ask anyone what they did, because then I would probably have to tell them what I did – work in a warehouse. It’s much nicer to say I’m working on my PhD.

Leave a Reply

