Skip to content

Texas: Hot, muggy, and full of bugs.

September 16, 2010

I mean, yes. But I’m also having some fun.

What have I done since having arrived in Texas on Sunday?

– Interviewed for 2 jobs (still waiting to hear back!)

– Stared pensively (for about 2 minutes between unpacking boxes) into the fog at the ranch.

Deep thoughts...

– Attended a baseball game with my designated Astros game and Houston performing arts performances date:

Grandpa!

You can't tell from this picture, but Minute Maid Park is FREEZING.

– Had delicious Mexican food at Little Pappasito’s with Patrick, Emily and the kids (I’m going to a baseball game next week to support my nevvie!) and watched my niece consume a HUGE brownie sundae.

– Went to lunch with Geoff (of The Orange Show fame), who gave me a present!

Gimme gimme gimme! What is it?

Can I just take a moment to say how much I appreciate my friends? I mean, from friend-of-the-blog Rob who keeps me in bakeware, to my roommate Emily who keeps me in jewelry, to Jessica who keeps me in vintage cookbooks, to Victoria who keeps me in repurposed vintage accessories, to Kim who keeps me in silicone bakeware, to… you get the idea. My friends have taken the art of “giving” to a whole new level of personalization for me, because they know me so well. (I suppose it helps that I post my thoughts on needs and wants here on the blog for everyone to see, but still…)

So. Thanks, you guys. You make me feel loved. πŸ™‚

Anyways, back to the gift at hand, Geoff saw this in a magazine and immediately knew he had to get it for me.

It's a cupcake decorating set!!

There’s two icing tube squeezers (yes, that’s a technical term), one with a fine tip and one with a star, one spatula, and, pride and joy, a CUPCAKE CORER!!!!!!

Cue fanfare.

What, you may ask, is a cupcake corer? Weeeell, my friends, it’s a nifty little device you can use to cut the middles out of cupcakes, so when you’re making margarita cupcakes, or pots o’ gold, or just about any other filled cupcake, you can do so without needing either a donut holer (my previous attempt at the cupcake corer) or a spoon! The trick is, you put the clear part on the right directly on top of the cupcake, then smush, cutting into the top and filling the corer with cupcake. Then you remove the core, and depress the red plunger (doesn’t that sound technical?) to release the core!

Depressed plunger. But in a good way...

I’m so excited to try out my new toy – guess that means cupcakes are on the menu!!!

Thanks, Geoff!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink
    September 17, 2010 3:00 pm

    Hey, so not to be debbie downer over here but… You may need to change the tagline of your site! 😦 boohoo. but yes, you are all the way in Texas now.

    Good for you!

    Bad for the rest of us not in Texas yet.

  2. September 23, 2010 7:07 am

    …then after releasing core, you shove all cupcake holes into mouth. After all, the calories for these leftover parts don’t really count.

    Oh! Sorry, just thinking out loud here.

    PS – had a boozy crunkcake this past weekend that had a core of the cupcake removed and then filled with pure alcohol. I ate half of one and could hardly stand afterward. Maybe an idea for your next project? πŸ˜‰

  3. September 30, 2010 2:46 pm

    hey, when will you get back to blogging? what do you do all day? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

