Skip to content

Howdy, y’all.

September 12, 2010

I pushed this trailer ALL THE WAY from DC to Texas...

Well, after 1,445 miles of driving (most of that done by my father), we made it!

I don’t have the energy or time (or internet) for a full update yet, but I just wanted to let y’all know we have arrived! We got to experience pizza in Chattanooga, TN (better than you’d think!), GIANT pralines in Lafayette, LA, and a delicious burger-and-fries lunch here in good ol’ Brenham. But possibly my favorite thing we saw was in the first rest area we stopped at in rural Virginia.

In Virginia, they feel it necessary to label the purse hooks.

Really, Virginia? You can’t afford proper signage for your roads, so you skimp and put the exit signs AFTER the exit…but you can afford purse hook labels?! And directly ABOVE this sign (I only took a couple pictures, because I was actually IN a bathroom stall) was a label that read “PLEASE USE PURSE HOOKS TO PROTECT YOUR VALUABLES.”

…?

Ha. A great note to end on, silly Virginia. I miss you already.

And now…I’m interviewing for a job here in Texas! Wish me luck, everyone, I’ll keep you posted.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jessica permalink
    September 14, 2010 2:11 pm

    I hate to bring it up…but I think this officially means you have to change your blog tagline. At least temporarily.

    I also really like how the use of purse hooks is not only encouraged, it appears to be widely believed to be a best practice for protecting ones valuables.

    SO EXCITED TO HAVE YOU BACK 🙂

    • October 8, 2010 3:20 pm

      Sigh…blog tagline changed. I’m glad to be here, too!

      And yes – you must hang those purses. Under-the-door thieves are EVERYWHERE…

  2. September 23, 2010 7:10 am

    well you know how those purse thieve like to troll the virginia public bathrooms. I mean, has that ever really happened to anyone? i think it’s an urban myth. but at least you don’t have to get all the crummy bathroom floor germs on the bottom of your purse – yuck!

    meanwhile, i still get lost every single time i enter virginia, because, like you mentioned, they can’t invest in some logical road signs!

    • October 8, 2010 3:21 pm

      Is it an urban myth?! I’ve never even heard of it!

      And yes, I know you get lost, but it’s definitely not your fault. Shame, Virginia. Shame.

  3. September 28, 2010 10:02 pm

    So, I hope this isn’t inappropriate: but have you lost weight?! Cause you look super skinny AND hot quasi-hugging that U-Haul! 🙂

    • October 8, 2010 3:22 pm

      Oh, Kendra, aren’t you the SWEETEST! 😀

      I have lost some weight, largely due to stress and a lack of baking (moving cross-country leaves you sad and without an oven). Don’t worry, though, as soon as I get a new job, I’ll be baking up a storm and rounding out those finely chiseled abs (Ha.) with a cupcake or two.

Leave a Reply

