Skip to content

Fancy chopsticks…

August 26, 2010

Yes, I’m still here. Yes, I’m still going to Paris.  No, I haven’t been blogging, and yes, I recognize that it’s lame when slacker bloggers complain about how they haven’t been posting.

Instead of apologizing a million times, here’s a list of things I’ve done in the last 2 weeks:

– Begun packing up my apartment for the move to Texas

– Applied for 2 jobs in Texas

– House-sat in Dunn Loring

– Held babies a lot

– Played with some 2 year olds

– Went dancing

– Ate so much fancy food I am now fearful of fitting into my going-away party dress (the one I have yet to purchase…)

– Started dating a boy

– Crashed and burned at dating a boy

– Moped about the fact that I was able to grow a pseudo-boyfriend, start to fall for said pseudo-boyfriend, and then get dumped by said pseudo-boyfriend all in the span of 8 weeks.

– Discovered that my blog is now full-disclosure

– Started receiving going away presents!!!

I have already received TWO going away presents, one of which is an awesome 12-cup silicone cupcake mold (thank you, Kim!!!), and the other of which I have just received this minute and of which I have taken tons of pictures.

My work friend Alice gave me a gift that is “me” on SO many levels: it’s food related, it’s foreign, and it’s PINK. They’re chopsticks from Hong Kong! In a set of two, with two placemats, napkins, and chopstick holders + napkin rings!

Commence chopstick montage.

[Sorry for the random color change – I thought I was improving my lighting conditions, but clearly was incorrect.]

I love my new chopstick set! And it’s got Chinese writing on it, which I assumed (naturally) referred to some cosmic secret in the universe, involving lotus blossoms (do they have those in China? Or Hong Kong?), panda bears, and mystic monks who ponder pensively while overlooking giant mountainous canyons.

Then Alice translated for me. “It says…[long pause]…Fancy chopsticks.”

Par for the course, people. Par for the course.

Be back after I’m done moving my entire apartment, life, and kitchen into a 5 x 5 x 4 foot storage unit.

Hugs and kisses (and chopsticks!).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink
    August 26, 2010 6:27 pm

    I didn’t know you liked pink!

Leave a Reply

