Skip to content

I’m sorry I haven’t been blogging much…I’ve been in a jam.

August 2, 2010

Better than being in a pickle?

<Bangs head on table from corniness of joke>

So I was *going* to post today on the awesomeness of the jam I made with all the bounty from last week’s peach picking extravaganza

See my plethora of peaches?

It was going to be a post full of beautiful pictures…

Peaches can be artsy too.

And other beautiful pictures…

Of cheeky raspberries...

With a hint of color...or possibly a smack-you-in-the-face of color...

And also there were blueberries…

Delicious(?) jam...

You were going to be really impressed with my homemakerness, and my wonderful photography. You would be impressed at my creativity, in making up half the recipe by adding blueberries (for pectin, you see) and you were going to love it.

But mostly you were going to be impressed with how delicious my jam was. And you would all rush off to replicate said jam with all those [insert your fruit of choice that’s taking over your kitchen table and refrigerator drawers], and we were all going to be friends. And it was a beautiful dream. But, as so often happens in life, our beautiful dream was hijacked.

My. Jam. Sucked.

I boiled and stirred and canned with the best of them, but my jam? Turned into something FAR more closely related to wallpaper paste than jam. I mean…no, no one wants runny jam. But when you actually run the risk of ripping bread through jam application? No. Thank. You. And it’s not even like it tasted all that good! I took a spoonful of it, pre-boiling and WOW, those peaches were delicious! The final product, though, tasted like burned raspberries. What a waste!

Also, turns out half a bushel of peaches yields the following:

3 pints of (questionable) jam

24 bourbon peach handpies

1 full-sized bourbon peach pie

AND I STILL HAVE LIKE 20 PEACHES LEFT!!! Who knew the burden of fresh-picked fruit could weigh so heavy? Not I, said the fly.

So if you need anything peach-related, I’m your girl. For jam, however, I am decidedly not your girl. In fact, run away. You shouldn’t even listen to me talk about jam. I might ruin your jam karma with the awful way in which I ruined my own. Yikes.

(Those hand pies were delicious, though. They took SIX HOURS to make, and after six hours of crust issues, egg wash, and a really REALLY slow oven, I only took one set of really crappy pictures, so just go to smitten’s post and be impressed with her wonderful photos. I promise my pies were nowhere near as pretty as hers anyway, so everyone wins! Will report on the regular pie tomorrow).

6 Comments leave one →
  1. stefanie permalink
    August 2, 2010 11:08 am

    Having taken a look at the hand pie link, I must ask… do you ship to Dallas? šŸ˜‰

    • Cupcake permalink
      August 2, 2010 11:41 am

      HA. No, but I’ll make them for you when I am back in Texas. I promise. šŸ™‚

  2. hthomson permalink
    August 2, 2010 2:47 pm

    You can freeze peaches. That’s what we like to do, then you can have peach pie all winter long.

    • Cupcake permalink
      August 2, 2010 2:50 pm

      I wish I could, but I can’t really transport frozen peaches to Texas… šŸ˜¦

  3. August 2, 2010 8:38 pm

    The peach hand pies were delicious. Don’t worry about your jam, I’ve always been scared to make it, when there is too much chemistry in cooking it worries me. It was nice seeing you and your hand pies!

  4. Robert permalink
    August 3, 2010 8:11 am

    I know someone who can help you with your jam and possibly even jelly. You have a paternal grandmother who can “can” with the best of them. You also have an aunt who might be of some help.

Leave a Reply

