Skip to content

Can you keep a secret?

June 22, 2010

I have a secret to tell you!!! Can you guess what it is??

I’ll give you a hint. It’s a generous one.

Hmmm...

Figure it out yet?

OK fine, another…

Give up?

…really? You give up? OK, fine, I’ll let you in on it.

I’M GOING TO COOKING SCHOOL IN PARIS!!!

OK, OK, OK…possibly I’m a little ahead of myself. What I actually MEAN is, I’m moving back home to Tejas on September 8th, to bank some cash (yes, I am now a boomeranger. I intend to pay for my free rent at home by providing delicious garlic- and onion-free meals and calorie-free desserts to my parents) so I can go to cooking school in Paris in 2011!

I haven’t worked out all the details yet, but people: I am literally dancing in my kitchen, making dinner and listening to Sinatra. I have never, ever in my life been as happy as I am right in this moment. I’m terrified – of failure, of the humble pie I am so sure will be on the menu at some point, of judgment, of spending my life paying back student loans for my third degree, etc. etc., etc. But even in the midst of all of that…my heart is singing. Literally. A quirky little French tune. It’s also wearing a beret and smoking a cigarette. But just one. (CIGARETTES ARE BAD.)

The one thing I hadn’t counted on in all of this, I must tell you, was how unbelievably kind all of my DC support network has been. I have had innumerable offers of free help, a free place to stay, TONS of open ears and arms (and tissues, for the tears!), and most recently, an amazing outpouring of sadness that I’m leaving! I never imagined I would “matter” (if you can call it that) to so many people, and so deeply – I am truly humbled and blessed by the beauty that is friendship. So, my humble following in this silly blogosphere, my family who is completely confused and bewildered (but excited for me!), and my friends, without whom I would make no sense of the world, I thank you, from the bottom of my cupcake-loving heart.

I thank God every day for the blessings He has given me, and for each one of you (those of you present with me and those of you resting peacefully with Him), and I shall do everything I can to repay His kindness in turn. Possibly with pastry. (What do you mean I can’t take it with me??)

With that, if you need a place to stay in Paris in 2011-2012, my couch is yours!!! (Assuming I have a couch…haven’t really gotten that far yet. Possibly instead of a couch you have a corner of the floor in the closet I’ll be sleeping in. But I promise to let you have the blanket. And the pillow).

AAAAAAAAAAAAGH!!!!!!! SO EXCITED!!!!!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. missy bendiksen permalink
    June 22, 2010 7:27 pm

    now that’s what i call following your heart! bravo!

  2. Emily permalink
    June 23, 2010 7:08 am

    Super excited for you!!! This may be the only good reason to justify losing my roomie πŸ™‚

  3. June 23, 2010 12:19 pm

    Hi there! I am so excited for you!! Cooking school in Paris? This is truly what dreams are made of…and you are awesome for following yours! You’ll have to blog about all the great recipes we can try here back in the states. Wow, it’s just like Julia Child! You’ll have to stop by while you are in Texas!

  4. Heather permalink
    June 29, 2010 5:02 pm

    Hm, I’ve always wanted to visit Paris.

  5. July 14, 2010 10:53 am

    I am so jealous right now. Can I live vicariously through you? πŸ™‚

  6. August 6, 2010 6:51 pm

    Hi!! A friend just find your page and send it to me. I just decide to put everything a side and go to cooking school too!! And trust me I feel the same way. I never , ever been so happy before. And the most important thing my family support my decision. I just open a blog with my story, is in spanish, but I hope u can read it.
    I was in Paris few years ago and I love it!! So I’m a 100% sure U will love it too!!!
    Keep gooing!!
    My blog is http://www.neyshascookingdiary.blogspot.com
    I will follow you…
    Neysha πŸ™‚

    • Cupcake permalink
      August 7, 2010 10:15 am

      Thanks, Neysha! I wish you luck!

Leave a Reply

