Skip to content

A day of frustrations.

April 18, 2010

So this was supposed to be my triumphant day. My “goodbye, US, hello Africa and Europe” post, explaining why I have not been posting in the last 2 weeks, so that you would all be impressed with my worldliness and forgive my lack of posts as I, as a jetsetter, have been so busy preparing for my whirlwind vacation and work trip that I just couldn’t find the time to post.

Ahem. Thanks to this, I am now not leaving for Ethiopia: Round 2 today, or possibly even at all. And that European vacation? Out the window. Goodbye, Paris in the springtime, hello volcanic ash.

Really?? Volcanoes? “Hey guys, sorry, I can’t make it to Paris this time, oh you know, because of a volcano in Eyjafjallajokull.” Eyjafjallajokull?! Really!? I love how in the news reports over the last few days they’ve spelled it out phonetically. Right. As if I can even attempt that. So yeah. I’m not going to Ethiopia today.

So to make myself feel better, I went and bought a new camera.

Canon SD1300 IS

It’s expensive. Like a couple hundred. And it’s got a beautiful screen. The only problem?

Can you tell...

...which is which?

NEITHER COULD I. So I spent $200 on a brand new camera that takes pictures EXACTLY LIKE MY OLD ONES. Ugh.

So, I don’t want to talk about Europe. I don’t want to talk about cameras.

Instead, I shall tell you about something I made this weekend, for my girl Melissa‘s baby shower.

Cupcakes make everything better.

These are margarita cupcakes with pink frosting (not to be confused with strawberry margarita cupcakes, sorry!!!). I got the recipe for the cake from a new blog I found (She Craves), filled them with lime curd from Tea & Cookies (she adapted it from someone else – it’s at the bottom), and topped them with a cream cheese frosting adapted as She Craves recommends.

Now. Let me first say, I am my own harshest critic. I found the crumb to be a little too tight, so the method of piping the lime curd directly into the naked cupcake didn’t really work. I should have followed what I did with the Guinness cupcakes and scooped out the middles, but I didn’t, so boo. Oh well.

These cupcakes were fun, though, because they have tequila and Grand Marnier in both the batter and the frosting.

TeQUILA!

Teeeny bottle of Grand Marnier.

Also it requires limes. Lots. And lots. Of limes.

Lime zest...

Do you know how many limes it takes to get 1/2 cup of juice?

A LOT.

Also there’s a lot of orange zest.

But not nearly as much orange zest as lime zest.

The cupcakes were pretty tasty, so I’d count them as a “win” in a decidedly non-win weekend.

Happy shower, Melissa!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 18, 2010 8:12 pm

    did the camera list any specific specs you were looking for in a new one? I’m sorry to say, but the camera itself does look a lot like the old one… minus all the wear and tear 😉

  2. Lisa's Dad permalink
    April 20, 2010 2:41 pm

    I don’t know which camera was used on the first of the “which is which” pix, but the second of the two cupcake pictures actually had less shadow and better color. If it was your old camera – GO GET YOUR MONEY BACK! As I understand it you may still make your “European Vacation” with a little work thrown in. If not 😦 If so, hurry back!

Trackbacks

  1. Texas: Hot, muggy, and full of bugs. « A Cupcake in Paris

Leave a Reply

