Skip to content

Happy St. Patrick’s Day! – Irish Pots O’ Gold

March 17, 2010

Are you wearing your green?

These guys are!

For St. Patrick’s Day this year, I knew I needed to do something festive, but I didn’t want to do the typical “green icing shamrock cookies” thing. SO I pulled out my Google Reader blogroll and googled “St. Patrick’s Day desserts.” And found these on Smitten Kitchen!

I took the recipe, modified it (literally by adding edible gold glitter) and I now present to you:

Irish Pots O' Gold!

They are a chocolate and Guinness cupcake, filled with a whiskey chocolate ganache and topped with a Bailey’s Irish Cream buttercream frosting. The cake itself is a chocolate batter, complemented by a cup of Guinness Stout.

One cup of delicious!

The stout gets simmered on the stove, so the alcohol mostly gets cooked out, then you mix it up with the cocoa powder.

My pot was quite happy to be holding the Guinness.

The batter for these cupcakes was phenomenal. Like – get a spoon, stuff it in your face, eyes roll back in your head good.

Look at that!

YUM.Β  Of course, in the midst of preparing the batter, I had to sample the original drink.

A wee bit tinier than the real thing...

It was good. Like chocolate milk. Only bubbly, and alcoholic. Perhaps it was to blame for the giant mess I left:

Messy messy

The cupcakes baked up well, slightly flat, but delicious-looking.

Part of the trick to these was filling them with chocolate ganache. To do this, I used my awesome doughnut-cutter from Rob, to cut little holes:

which left me with a pile of cupcake holes (which I quickly devoured).

I filled the cupcakes using a ziploc and my 1M star tip, not for any special reason other than it’s my only tip.

Pretty, though, right?

Then I frosted them with the same tip, and sprinkled them with gold edible glitter dust.

I'd look for these at the bottom of a rainbow any day.

And that’s it!

Pure delicious.

These were a HUGE hit at work. Possibly because the recipe made so. many. cupcakes.

TWO DOZEN!?

No worries, though. They were all eaten by the end of the day.

And with that, I’m off to Texas for a much-deserved vacation. I’ll be back on Sunday, hopefully with some pictures of me and Lightning!!!

Happy St. Patrick's Day!!!

Hopefully this will start to look a little more … vertical … by the end of the day. πŸ˜‰ Commence with the green beer consumption!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 8:44 am

    Damn, those look good .

  2. EmilyW permalink
    March 17, 2010 11:44 am

    Let me speak as someone who had the pleasue of tasting, these cupcakes are phenomenal and very recommended!

    • Cupcake permalink
      March 19, 2010 9:43 am

      Thanks for the compliment, Emily! Think the hostess at Vapiano enjoyed hers? πŸ™‚

  3. March 17, 2010 7:05 pm

    you know, for being a great friend of yours I’m inexplicably out of the loop when you make goodies like this. will be working on ways to ameliorate this over the weekend.

    • Cupcake permalink
      March 19, 2010 9:44 am

      Haha, it’s true. I’m at fault. Next time I make something, mark my words – I’ll set a little box aside for you (and then intentionallly meet up with you after work for the tradeoff).

  4. March 19, 2010 9:48 am

    Mmmhmmm. They were delicious! I want one now!

    And I love your pics – looking good! πŸ™‚

  5. Rob permalink
    March 22, 2010 7:26 pm

    These look awesome! So glad I could play a little role in their creation.

Trackbacks

  1. Texas: Hot, muggy, and full of bugs. « A Cupcake in Paris

Leave a Reply

