Skip to content

I’ve been really busy at work this week…

March 12, 2010

…which is why I haven’t been posting. It occurred to me that those of you who live in other places (and most of you who live in DC) have not, and probably will never, visit my office.

So, for your entertainment, I thought I should present to you: my whiteboard. I use it for work-related, very important things. It had to be installed by maintenance, to make sure this economist had access to large portions of wall upon which she could write equations, things to do, and reminder notes. It lives on the wall next to my desk, and I look at it every day.

Remember. It’s very serious.

(You must click to see the picture, if you’re coming from the home page)So clearly, it was put to good use…

My whiteboard.

Starting clockwise from the top left corner:

“Words We Like” – this is a list of words my officemates and I put up when we find a word we like the sound of. For example: peeved, plethora, cupcake empire (love that one), ethnical, guanabana, sniglet, harbinger, teanemone, squeakquel, etc.

“Sniglet du Jour” – this is a place where we put sniglets we hear or invent on the spot. My favorite originals were snarmbrella: when you’re walking down the street carrying an umbrella, but then you get caught in a crowd of people walking the other way also carrying umbrellas, and teanemone: the Chinese tea where you put a whole flower pod in your teacup, fill it with hot water, and watch it bloom.

Today’s favorite sniglet is jeggins.

Along the righthand border of the board are newspaper clippings I find interesting. The top is a picture of a koala sipping water after the awful wildfires in Australia last year. The next is a writeup of The Red and The Black (with the caption “Melissa’s Steve did this!!!”, because Melissa‘s husband manages the talent there and at a couple other places, like the Rock & Roll Hotel). Then there’s a tiny sticker that says “I support MENU LABELING in DC” for DC Voices for Meal Choices.

Underneath the menu sticker is an article about the Washington Humane Society’s PACK, a dogwalking group that helps socialize shelter dogs to help get them adopted. To the left (half hidden behind it) is an information card for Bourbon Coffee.

To the left is a holy card of Mother Teresa of Calcutta, with a prayer which I use for inspiration in our efforts to help feed the hungry (and yes, I put that in just to guilt-trip those of you NOT working for a think tank dedicated to the eradication of hunger and poverty).

Then an old Starbucks coffee cup holder, with a quite I liked by Roosevelt – “…The only thing we have to fear is fear itself — nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror which paralyzes needed efforts to convert retreat into advance.” It’s from an inaugural address, so I suspect I got it around the inauguration in 2009.

The teeny green card is a Report Writing quick lookup card, from a presentation I attended at work. Then a business card, and a postcard from a dear friend who is getting her PhD in Toulouse. Next to that (back on the board again) is a picture of Zombie Mel. Zombie Mel is what happens when the hormones hit during pregnancy, and is ready to EAT YOUR BRAIN.

Finally, we have “Este’s Whiteboard.” This is a relic of the past, when my officemate Esteban was feeling a little underrepresented in the whiteboard department, so I generously gave him a portion of mine. The pictures are from a friend’s bridal shower, where we dressed the men up using tissue paper. Then, one of our other office staff printed up photos of Este as best-dressed bride for HIS wedding shower! And finally, you will note the “Neutral Zone” which is next to the “Export Zone.” You forgot we’re international economists, didn’t you? Ha.

And that about wraps up the whiteboard. Personally, I consider it completely necessary for job effectiveness and efficiency. Otherwise, where would we post hilarity?

Have a happy weekend!

–Cupcake.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 12, 2010 9:37 pm

    Hey Lisa! Just looking through your blog. Pretty nice. There are so many things I need to learn about this. I think this could be a great tool to help me in my writing career. Do you mind if I add a link to your blog on my site? TTYL.

    • lisam permalink
      March 12, 2010 11:49 pm

      Hey Evan! Of course – help yourself. I’d love to be on your blog!

  2. March 13, 2010 5:18 pm

    Lol! Love it! This is a great post and captures this very serious side of your work forever. And I love the zombie Mel explanation. šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

