Skip to content

Leek Soup and Gigilicious Salad – Guest Feature

February 21, 2010

Welcome readers, family, and friends, to the very first of my new Guest Feature series! It occurred to me not long ago that I have a number of very talented friends who cook, and not all of them have blogs. Regardless of blog ownership, though, I thought it would be a great idea to showcase some of my friends’ talents, with pictures, recipes, and stories from the lives of people who have influenced my life.

I was thrilled to discover I have many friends interested in guest featuring, and even more thrilled to find friends recommending OTHER friends as guest authors, which means the Cupcake network is growing by the day. I’m so pleased to have so much interest, and am looking forward to incorporating guest posts into what is already an exciting part of my life. With that, I present the format of the Guest Feature series: a quick few sentences (written by me) introducing the guest author, and any pertinent information I think you need to know, followed by a post written by the guest author. If you’re interested in participating in the Guest Feature series, leave a comment! I’d love to have you. And without further ado…Leek Soup and Gigilicious Salad!

[I realized the beginning of this post was too text-heavy, thanks to my long-winded explanation, so here’s a totally gratuitous adorable child picture of my little niece working on her chef skills. It’s totally unrelated to the rest of this post, except for the fact that she’s a guest cook…sort of.]

It's never too early to learn to cook.

Welcome to Laura Jill, writer of Veganlicious, Blogalicious, a food blog dedicated (in part, among other things) to vegan cooking. Laura recently had her 1 year vegan anniversary, so to congratulate her, I decided to make hers the first post on the Cupcake Guest Feature Series. Part of the fun of having guest features is learning about other peoples’ approach to food, and Laura has a really interesting perspective. I encourage you to read through the recipe, and give a vegan meal a shot – this is particularly useful for Catholics avoiding meat on Fridays during Lent, or for tagging for use when you have a vegetarian coming over for dinner. But the best part about Laura’s recipes? They’re delicious for everyone. Enjoy!

Hello to my new friend Lisa’s readers!  I’m Laura Jill, writer of Veganlicious, Blogalicious, and I’m happy to guest feature on Lisa’s blog, A Cupcake in Paris, with a wholesome and savory vegan meal of Soup and Salad.  But first, a little background.  After not eating any vegetables at all for most of my life, I spent about 5 years experimenting with different levels of vegetarianism.  A little over a year ago, I became Vegan.

A Vegan does not use any animal products–not only no meat, poultry or fish, but also no milk, no eggs, and no honey.  Many think that it is hard to be Vegan, that we’re deprived, when in fact, it can be easy, fun, and wonderfully delicious.  I am passionate about and well educated on all of the major arguments for veganism–the fact that it is a healthy life style (Vegans are less likely to suffer from heart disease, diabetes, and cancer), that it is environmentally friendly (factory farming is a greater cause of global warming than driving SUVs), and that it is animal friendly.  I’m also very well educated on nutrition, and I can easily meet all of my health needs with a well balanced diet vegetables, fruits, beans, nuts, seeds, and grains.

So, while being Vegan does require patience and strength, beyond that, it does not really require much more than creativity and a love of cooking.  And with that, on to the recipes! …(More after the jump, plus Pictures!)…

Last week, my Mom sent me a recipe for Leek Soup from her Wegman’s Magazine. The recipe called for a few Wegman’s specific products, and since I don’t have a Wegman’s in South Beach, I modified it quite a bit.

Leek Soup

Ingredients:
2 leeks, sliced on the bias, and separated
2 cloves garlic
1 tbsp olive oil
4 c water
1.5 tbsp Vogue Vege Base
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried rosemary
1 tsp dried thyme
salt & pepper to taste
Process:
Heat the oil on medium heat, Saute the leeks for about 5 minutes
Add the garlic, Saute about a minute more
Add the herbs, the Vege Base, and the s&p, give it a good stir, then add the water
Turn heat up to high, bring to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer for about 10 minutes.

HUGE shout-out to my Mommy for sending me the recipe, and for giving me the idea for this yummy soup on this cold winter’s night (lol, it’s currently 63 degrees).

Gigilicious Salad

Next, I made a Gigilicious Salad (in fact, for the obvious reason that all of my salads are now inspired by my friend Gigi, I’m probably going to refer to every salad I make from now as Gigilicious, I even just added it to the spell check dictionary).

Ingredients:
1 c finely chopped spinach
1/2 c finely chopped romaine
1/4 c finely chopped cilantro
1/2 green pepper, finely chopped
1 carrot, finely chopped
1 stalk celery, finely chopped
1 can artichoke hearts in water, drained and chopped
3 scallions, finely chopped
1/2 beet, finely chopped
1/2 can white beans, drained
1/4 c quinoa, cooked
2 tbsp sunflower seeds
1/4 c Goddess Dressing
Process:
Combine everything except for the beets, and put it in a pretty serving bowl. The beets will turn everything else red, so put them in last, right on top.

Thank you all for reading, and please feel free to check out and bookmark my Veganlicious, Blogalicious blog, too!  Happy Eating!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 4:01 pm

    Thank you so much, Lisa! I am honored to be your first featured guest!

    • lisam permalink
      February 21, 2010 6:31 pm

      My pleasure, Laura! I’m so glad to have you.

Leave a Reply

