Skip to content

Laissez les bons temps roulez…

February 16, 2010

My dear friend Michelle from college sent me a package in the mail today. It was from Lafayette, Louisiana.

See?

Whatever could it be, on this lovely day of Mardi Gras? (follow the jump to see…)

King Cake!!!

It’s a KING CAKE! Mailed directly to ME by Michelle!

A king cake is a delicious confection that tastes sortof like the bready part of a cinnamon roll, with tri-colored icing. The ones from the Lafayette, LA Albertson grocery store are, by far, the best ones I have EVER tasted, which Michelle knows well.

Deliciousness.

And so on her annual pilgrimage to the homeland this year, she bought one for me! I immediately got in the spirit, busted out my Mardi Gras beads, my Pat O’Brien’s hurricane glass (from when  I turned 21 on Bourbon Street…but that’s a different story…), and hid the baby.

What baby, you say?

This baby!

Part of the fun of the king cake is the baby – you hide a baby in one of the slices, and whoever finds the baby, becomes king for the day! It’s a goofy, fun tradition, and it made my day that she thought of me.

Mmm.

To go with it, I made delicious fruity sangria. I threw it together from what I had in the fridge, and it turned out perfectly refreshing!

Sangria!

Lisa’s Last-Minute Sangria

1 bottle Barefoot Merlot

1 can frozen orange juice concentrate

1 can seltzer

1/4 to 1/2 c. of rum (depending on how adventurous you’re feeling)

Handful of chopped fruit – for this one I used 3 strawberries, 1/2 a lemon, and 1/2 a banana

Mix the orange juice concentrate with the seltzer and try to break it up as much as possible. Then dump in the wine and rum, mix it all up (making sure there are no OJ chunks left) and then toss in the fruit. Serve in a glass over lots of ice, and laissez les bons temps ROULEZ!

Even Tortellini got into the spirit! See her beads?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:44 pm

    I did NOT know that you had a cat. Named Tortellini. I love you even more now, and your sangria recipe sounds delicious.

  2. lisam permalink
    February 16, 2010 10:46 pm

    Haha – thanks, Sarah. 🙂 Tort’s actually my roommate’s cat, but she’s the sweetest little snuggle bunny ever.

  3. Lisa's Dad permalink
    February 17, 2010 11:22 am

    Oh come on, “snuggle bunny”? Tort looks a tad upset that you not only defiled her with beads, but you had the audacity to take a picture of the whole indignation!

  4. February 20, 2010 7:04 pm

    Love the Sangria recepie! Yum…

  5. MaryScotter permalink
    February 22, 2010 6:04 pm

    Missed you at Mardi Gras this year! Hopeyou enjoyed the cakes. Maybe one day we’ll have another Aggies’ girls all together catching beads and dressing up for the Ball again… in the meantime we gace it our best shot without you… had a great time at our annual family event!

    • lisam permalink
      February 22, 2010 6:43 pm

      Thanks for commenting!! We LOVED the cake – thank you so much for thinking of me!!! It was a full-on party at our apartment, though not quite as fun as the real deal.

Leave a Reply

