Skip to content

Lightning (and blizzard) update

February 10, 2010

Well, I have very sad news to report – as of Monday morning, Lightning (the new calf on my folks’ ranch) is officially an orphan. It’s so sad when something like this happens – watching an animal suffer, with no way of communicating your support or love, is such a painful place to be. But, we’re ranchers, and as such must power on.

…and focus on the happy little calf who needs our love!

Lightning!

Mom says he’s growing REALLY fast – he’s taller than her inseam now (though you can’t tell because the lazybones is always in his pen). They set him up with a sweet pad inside the house fence (protected from the other cows and other random bits of wildlife), where he can roam around, sniff things, and hide in his little shed if necessary. They’re working on getting the puppy used to him – Mom said yesterday they had Bear out with him and he didn’t try to eat him this time…(snow pictures and more calf stories after the jump)

…When Mom arrives home from work, she is greeted by this little face, right in her car window, going “MEEEEUUUUUHHHHH!!!!!!” (it is a French cow, you see) and wagging his little tail. Then he moos at her until she feeds him (2 quarts of rehydrated milk, 2 times a day), and when she goes inside the house, he circles the house, mooing at the top of his lungs. I think it’s safe to say, Lightning is in love.

I’m hoping my dad follows through this weekend – he promised to videotape Mom with Lightning following her around – so if he does, I will be sure to include it here.

In DC news, we’re on round 2 of our monumental blizzardness, so-dubbed “Snowverkill”:

Whiteout. Well, not in this picture, but elsewhere.

This time around, the weather means business. The wind is blowing so hard out there, I wouldn’t even want to go play in it. I’m really curious to see what’s going to happen since the last one left the parking lots like this:

This used to be a parking lot.

Luckily, they had the snow plows out, so they cleared enough room for me to park my car and watch a movie:

Empty lot.

The problem is, however, that the snow got piled up like this:

The piles were almost as tall as me!

Which means that NOW, with the snow POURING out of the sky, the streets are going to fill up and become even deeper. Yuck.

So we’re spending the day like this:

Watch that snow blow.

Oh yeah – what else do you do when you’re snowed in? At least, snowed in without massive blizzard wind?

Get your hair chopped off!

Yes I’m at a mall food court. The only hair salon in walking distance is at the Mall. Anyways – after Victoria selflessly donated all her hair and was left with an uber-professional and hot ‘do, I felt a need to update my style. And, as my father says, I got “that flip under do thingee! Very now!” 🙂

Hope we’re not shut in much more…I don’t think I can spare any more inches off the ol’ noggin.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lisa's Dad permalink
    February 10, 2010 2:02 pm

    Ok, just so your readers know I spent the better part of 2 days trying to get Lightning’s mom to eat or drink. I would turn her over and get her back on her sternum, which is where a cow is supposed to be when lying down. So I think she knew I was trying.

    Also, Bear has learned to like Lightning! He thinks he is a “PEZ”! Everytime Bear goes out he looks for little milky treats that Lightning has left around the yard. Bear thinks they are milk chocolate and I don’t have the heart to tell him what they really are!

    Finally, I am known for keeping my word and you will have a video or two soon.

    • lisam permalink
      February 10, 2010 2:05 pm

      Awww, it’s ok Dad!!! I’m sure she knew how hard you tried – and yes, readers, my dad worked his BUTT off trying to save her. It’s just the way it goes on the ranch sometimes.

      And gross. I can’t believe you posted that on my blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

