Skip to content

What happens when you drop a Wilton #32 icing tip down the garbage disposal?

February 1, 2010

Woe is me. I’ve macerated my decorating tip. After piping my Oreo cupcakes on Saturday, I had a massive amount of mess to clean up, so the tip ended up in a bowl by the sink.

Lesson#1: Don’t leave tiny decorating tips in bowls for washing up.

I had to rush off to a work event, so I left the dishes as-is (see Oreo cupcake post for the mess) until I could get a handle on them. When I finally got around to washing all the dishes, I rinsed out the bowl and washed everything down the drain. A few hours later, I was doing a second set of dishes, and heard a funny little “Chink chink GRANGK!!!!!” noise when I flipped the switch for the disposal.

Lesson #2: When the garbage disposal makes a funny little “Chink chink GRANGK!!!!!” noise, it’s not just “some big piece of lemon wedge.”

Thinking this was strange, I went to investigate (is there any way to describe that feeling of dread as you put your hand down the drain risking mutilation, dismemberment, and that icky brownish gunge that tends to collect in sink drains? Ick.). Minutes later, I removed this from the drain:

Hmmm...

I was looking at this wad of metal, trying to figure out who put a bottle cap down the drain, when I saw the etchedย  “32.” Awwwwww crap. $2.00 down the drain….literally.

Dramatic sigh. I’m going to mourn the loss of my baking companion by eating the last of my Oreo cupcakes. Luckily for you guys, I’m a resilient baker. And I’d already upgraded to a 1M tip, for larger ridges.

BAM!

Goodbye, little tip. You helped me celebrate the 100th anniversary of my old house in Arlington, and I’ll never forget the pretty ridges on those Oreo cupcakes. You shall be missed. But only for like 24 hours.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Christy permalink
    February 1, 2010 3:42 pm

    hahaha….I too hate putting my hand down the drain, even though the disposal is off. I always feel as if it will magically turn on while my hand is down there.

    Love your blog!!! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Christy

    • lisam permalink
      February 1, 2010 4:15 pm

      I know! It’s a permanent fear. I think (for me) it’s a result of watching Final Destination too many times… And thanks for commenting! I’m glad you like it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Rob permalink
    February 1, 2010 6:33 pm

    You’re not a real baker until you’ve lost several things down the garbage disposal (icing tips, 1/8 teaspoons, strawberry hullers, etc.). Also, the fear of being mutilated by a garbage disposal using requires me to use salad tongs to fish out the offending matter. I don’t care how “off” the switch appears to be. I’m not taking a chance.

    • lisam permalink
      February 3, 2010 6:46 pm

      Hahaha – “I don’t care how ‘off’ the switch appears to be.” My sentiments, exactly.

  3. Jessica permalink
    February 1, 2010 11:48 pm

    Wilton #32 reminds me of #2 pencils and the disposal a giant sharpener. It’s almost poetic. Tragic poetry, of course.

    • lisam permalink
      February 3, 2010 6:47 pm

      Your brain works in wonderful ways, Jess. And yes. Quite tragic poetry.

  4. missy bendiksen permalink
    February 16, 2010 5:06 pm

    I think my little lisa has turned into this wonderful, interesting, beautiful adult. i am so PROUD of you!
    now i can follow your life.
    your old school nurse,
    mb

    • lisam permalink
      February 16, 2010 5:07 pm

      Thank you so much, Ms. Bendiksen! You made my day. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

