Skip to content

Congratulations, Mel! Here’s a cupcake.

January 20, 2010

My office soulmate Melissa just found out that she and her hubby are having a little baby girl! (I assume since she’s posted it on her blog, it’s appropriate for me to spill her beans to the rest of the world…right?)

PINK ducky! For a GIRL!

To celebrate, I brought her some Georgetown Deliciousness, aka the Toffee Crunch cupcake from Georgetown Cupcake, which are only available on Mondays.

…now…Monday was a holiday, in this here part of the world, the National Day of Service in honor of Martin Luther King, Jr., as previously mentioned on this blog. So there were a ton of people out and about, enjoying the day of freedom and beautiful weather. What did that mean for Georgetown Cupcake?

Line around the block!

You can’t tell from this picture, but inside Georgetown Cupcake’s swanky new digs, on the corner of 33rd and M in Georgetown, that line wraps around twice. Luckily, folks, this ain’t my first rodeo, and as I wanted to make sure I could get a cupcake with a little pink ducky fondant and a cupcake with a little blue ducky fondant (because gender-specific cupcakes are a necessity), I ordered ahead.

Folks, let me tell you – this was totally the way to go. I got to push past all these grumpy, sugar-starved people (who almost attacked me on my way in, mind you) and walk straight up to the counter, tell them my name, pay, and leave! Even before the next person in line got their cupcakes! Talk about VIP treatment…

…and the order was really small, too – only 4 cupcakes. I asked in the email whether only 4 would be a problem, and was assured “That’s no problem at all!” Georgetown Cupcake, snaps for customer service.

So, congratulations, Melissa! I hope you enjoyed your pink cupcake, and that you and Steve enjoy the adventure that is raising a little girl. 🙂

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Marlo Savage permalink
    January 20, 2010 1:18 pm

    So cute…..thanks for making my daughter’s big day even more special!

    • lisam permalink
      January 20, 2010 1:22 pm

      Aw, my pleasure, Marlo! Your daughter’s one special cupcake herself – thanks for sharing her with us!

      • January 20, 2010 2:35 pm

        You are too sweet! I loved the cupcakes and the hassle you had to go through to get them for me! Thanks so much! 🙂

  2. Val permalink
    January 31, 2010 9:52 am

    I don’t know if this is even the appropriate place to write this, but you know I have ADD and cannot read the whole blog. Your oreo cupcakes were amazing! Glenn and I ate them as soon as everyone left our house in front of the fire. Normally, I would never choose that kind of cupcake at a bakery. I don’t gravitate towards any flavors that use store bought cookies or candies (like heath bars). But, it really worked in your cupcake, especially the little added touch of having the oreo cookie placed at the bottom of the cookie. What a nice touch! Thanks for saving some of those yummy cupcakes for us and schlepping them in the snow to our house!

    • lisam permalink
      January 31, 2010 3:10 pm

      Thank you so much, Valerie! I’m glad you enjoyed them. It was a great party!

Leave a Reply

