Skip to content

The Pioneer Woman…and me?

January 16, 2010

Well happy Three Day Weekend, folks who work for the federal government, and anyone else who gets MLK day off on Monday! I’m celebrating the long weekend by, aside from volunteering Monday morning, leaving my apartment as little as possible. So…blogging is most obviously a necessity.

The Pioneer Woman

First up – a somewhat dated thank you to my Grandpa (not the one from the ranch – the one who lives in a downtown Houston loft apartment – yes, now you see where I come from, right? ha) for a very generous gift he gave me for Christmas.

Small preface. My grandpa was diagnosed with cancer on his kidney back around Thanksgiving. It turned out to be bladder cancer, which is not nearly as bad as renal cancer, but it was most definitely serious and required the removal of an entire kidney. This would not be a fun operation even for a young whippersnapper like myself, so we were all a little cognizant of the fact that Grandpa was going to have a harder time of it.

Well, I am ecstatic to report that Grandpa is up and moving, and doing fabulously as a result of the fine doctors at Kelsey Seybold in Houston. Yay!

But even before he was up and moving, Grandpa was thinking of his grandbaby. Back in early December, the Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, ranch wife, food blogger, and all-around superwoman, was in Houston for a book signing. Now, I have to be honest. I had never heard of Ree, or the Pioneer Woman, before the story I’m going to tell you unfolded. But. Grandpa has a lady that helps him with the computers at his house, Jane, who sometimes helps out with some other things. Well, it turns out Jane attended this event with Ree, where Ree was signing copies of her book for the adoring masses!

Jane thought of me, Grandpa thought of me, a match made in heaven? Yes. So, for Christmas this year, Grandpa gave me (courtesy of Jane – thanks, Jane!), a very attractive brown Pioneer Woman vintage tee (pictured above) and a copy of The Pioneer Woman Cooks, with an awesomely awesome signed front page!

I love the little heart.

“To Lisa: Keep food bloggin!” Love it! This woman, for realz, is awesome. I was telling Victoria this morning – this woman, has stolen my life. The life I don’t have. But would LOVE to have. She started out a city girl, going to school in California, only to find herself back home after a few years, falling in love with a cowboy so-dubbed “Marlboro Man” (for the complete story, in true sit-on-the-couch-with-a-box-of-brownies swoon fashion, see her confessions here).

I love her title pages - so indicative of ranch life.

I love her approach to her blog – it’s not just food, it’s really a look into the life of a ranch wife, and she’s very forthright, which I appreciate. My mom and I are skeptical that one woman can achieve as much as she’s achieved over the lifetime of her marriage, but that’s mostly just jealousy talking (though I don’t know what my mom has to be jealous of – clearly I’m a fantastic child and fulfill her every dream and wish). In all seriousness, Ree seems like a totally happy and up-beat person, who, as Victoria reminded me, we desperately need more of in this world. So thanks, Grandpa, and Jane!, for introducing me to the world of the Pioneer Woman – she rocks!

And last word on this – I don’t know if Ree checks the blogrolls for references to her products, but here’s a little Pioneer Woman shoutout – I wore the tshirt Grandpa gave me on my way to my other grandparents’ ranch, and I totally got stopped by a woman at a rest stop who has been an avid Pioneer Woman reader for 2 years now! She’d even driven up to Houston for the book signing. So Ree, well done – you’re even recognized on the streets of small-town Texas!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Courtney permalink
    January 16, 2010 3:46 pm

    Funny, I just found out about her myself about two weeks ago from a link on another blog. She is truly cool. Makes me want to move back to the farm. My mom has a similar story of growing up on the east coast and meeting/marrying a farmer and moving to Missouri.

    • lisam permalink
      January 18, 2010 6:39 pm

      That is tooo cute! And crazy – I love how stuff like that will randomly happen all at once (many different folks finding the same blog, not the moving to a farm bit). Tell your mom to send a cowboy or two my way…

Trackbacks

  1. I may not be a pioneer woman…but I can grow some mad herb. « A Cupcake in Paris

Leave a Reply

