Skip to content

Rockette Lunchbreak

December 4, 2009

This post’s for Merideth, who always wanted to be a Rockette.

Rockette MADNESS

Did y’all know the Rockettes are coming to DC?? Well I sure didn’t, until Melissa mentioned that Curbside Cupcakes was going to be near our office today.

Curbside Cupcakes, whom I may not have mentioned before, is this awesome new little bakery truck that drives around, dispensing sugary goodness in the form of cupcakes (what else?).

Rockette Red Velvet! De-lish.

Well, at lunch Melissa mentioned that Curbside was going to be near our offices at lunchtime today. I have to be honest – once she said “cupcake” my ears stopped listening and my stomach took over, so I missed the part about “and they’re doing a publicity thing with the Rockettes where if you buy half a dozen cupcakes you could win free tickets” (Sorry, Melissa, mea culpa – it’s my cupcake addiction, you can’t expect my ears to work properly).

So you can imagine my shock and awe when we show up to the pink truck to a large crowd of passersby and two scantily clad (and subsequently probably freezing) Rockettes with ENORMOUS smiles on their faces.

Check out the Rockette on the left - her smile goes for DAYS.

Evidently, the Rockettes were there to promote their upcoming show! A short while later, once my ears started working properly and I was up to speed on the game, we purchased our six Rockette Red Velvets, hoping for free tix. Unfortunately, we were unsuccessful in our ticket-seeking, but when it comes to cupcakes, everyone wins!

Anyways, that was today’s brush with fame, and it made me remember Merideth’s childhood wish to be a Rockette, so Merideth – over Christmas, I promise to make you a Rockette Red Velvet, so you too can feel like a Rockette. I won’t make you stand outside in 40 degree weather wearing a tutu, however.

Yes, the Rockettes consumed a cupcake each. I know, I was shocked too.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Emily Gunn permalink
    December 4, 2009 2:59 pm

    haha I like this post.

Leave a Reply

