Skip to content

Giving Thanks! Or, more specifically, just Giving.

December 3, 2009

Helloooo, blogosphere! It’s nice to be back. Apologies for the long absence from posting, but I’ve been recuperating from an exhausting few weeks – starting with my birthday and finishing off with an excellent trip to Tejas for Thanksgiving. Now that I’ve had a few days to recover, I’m ready to post … and boy do we have a good one today!

Pumpkin time

In this season of abundance and joy, it’s always important to keep in mind those of us with less to be thankful for. I myself, of course, have a tremendous amount of things to thank God for: my faith, my family, my friends, a great job, an awesome apartment (and roommate and kitty cat), the chance and funds to cook, eat, and bake just about anything my heart desires…

In light of all I have, it’s only fair that I try to share what I can with those who don’t have as great a setup as myself. It’s time to say: yes, I want to sleep in today, but instead I’ll wake up at 6AM to go bake turkeys for the homeless (like my selfless roommate did the weekend before Turkey Day). Not everyone has the urge (or willpower) to wake up early, however, so here I will provide you with some interesting ideas to do some good this Christmas. Some of these are food related, some are not, all are excellent causes and worthy of your support. Thanks go out to Emily, Victoria, and the blogroll for bringing some of these to my attention.

  1. Donate to Cakes for Cause, either time (if you’re local) or money, by clicking here.
  2. Enter the raffle Menu for Hope 6 (when it opens – Dec 14 thru 25, 2009) and support the World Food Programme’s Purchase for Progress. See Pim at http://www.chezpim.com/ to find out more information (I’ll be linking to the local host when the prize competition goes online, so you’ll be notified).
  3. Donate to the American Cancer Society
  4. Help an entrepreneur get funding through Kiva.

As the season progresses, I’ll keep posting ideas and thoughts about ways to help others, so be ready for it. My philosophy on giving, which I feel is an integral part of the human experience (and not just a moral obligation), is that in addition to respecting the dignity of the person in need, wherever possible it should also help that person improve their livelihoods, whether it be through youth outreach, research to prevent and control the impact of disease, funding for a business venture, or allowing small-scale farmers access to international markets. That’s why I support these causes: each one allows for your gift to continue giving.

So find something that gets you fired up, and give back. I’ll be watching you…

Table drawing at Barrel Oak Winery

5 Comments leave one →
  1. lisam permalink
    December 3, 2009 6:00 pm

    Tis the season – the Kitchn has a great post on giving back today.

    http://www.thekitchn.com/thekitchn/gift-guides/holiday-gift-guide-gifts-for-good-causes-103077

  2. Rob permalink
    December 7, 2009 12:35 pm

    Love, love, love the snowflakes! And the topic! One more to add to your great suggestions (for those of us who haven’t done international travel) – blood banks often suffer severe shortages during the holiday season.

  3. December 10, 2009 11:34 am

    And in case cooking is not your thing and you don’t have the funds to donate, there is a really cool blog I came across recently that does very interesting projects for the needy. It’s called Craft Hope http://crafthope.com and it’s basically like an online co-op that identifies projects adn then organizes crafters via the internet into working together to make something for the project. I especially like this one http://crafthope.com/2009/08/project-4-little-heroes-preschool-burn-camp/ where they made tons of toy stuffed monkeys for a preschool burn camp.

Trackbacks

  1. Quick Volunteerism Plug – MLK Day and Beyond « A Cupcake in Paris
  2. Brain malfunction: EXPLOSION OF AWESOME!!! « A Cupcake in Paris

Leave a Reply

