Skip to content

Surprise Birthday Gift!!!

November 12, 2009

OK, so we all know Friend of the Blog Rob, right? Of gel paste, Texas and Eiffel Tower cookie cutter, and Madagascar Bourbon Vanilla fame, yes? Well, he’s done it again, and this time…it’s serious.

I’m not going to post all the gifts now, because there are 26 of them (yes. You read that correctly. Twenty. Six.), each tagged with a saying or phrase from the blog, but I wanted to share this one in particular, because it’s SO. AWESOME.

OK, for those of you who don’t kow her, there’s this awesome baking craze that has swept the food blogging community entitled Tuesdays With Dorie. This basically involves baking your way through Dorie Greenspan‘s Baking: From My Home to Yours, to delicious and delectable results.

I have been dying to get a copy of this book for ages and ages, but in the midst of all my working, traveling, and generally being busy, I hadn’t had time to pick it up (though how long does it really take to go online and buy a copy? Not long, come now). Well. Rob came through big time.

Baking: From My Home to Yours

Oh what’s that you say? An awesomely awesome copy of the best baking book EVER? Surely there’s nothing that can top that, is there?

Oh yes. There is.

That's Dorie Greenspan's HANDWRITING!

AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

Dorie Greenspan signed my copy of her book!!! And it’s addressed to “Lisa The Cupcake in Paris”!!!!!! I think I’ve died and gone to baker heaven.  Dorie Greenspan, addressing something to me.

Thank you, Rob, for all your generosity – and as promised, everyone please click here and visit Dorie’s website for me. It was a tremendous favor Rob called in to get the book signed, so I would really love to give Dorie’s website a boost as a result (and thank you to Rob’s friend the web developer for helping!!!).
What an awesome birthday…and to top it off, I made maple syrup macarons yesterday and will be following them up with CHOCOLATE ones made with dutch processed cocoa, which was yet another part of my 26-piece giftbox!!! (Have I used enough exclamation points yet?)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2009 4:02 pm

    Happy Birthday, Lisa! I’m so, so happy that you love your present — I thought it was terrific that Rob and Andrew, the web genie, arranged it for you. Bet the other 25 presents were swell, too. I hope you enjoy them all!

    • lisam permalink
      November 13, 2009 5:45 pm

      Thank you so much, Dorie!! I was literally just showing my parents your book when I saw this comment! The other 25 were phenomenal, and I hope to use many of them when I start on your recipes. I’m so excited to bake with your book (and so honored that you came to my blog)!

Leave a Reply

