Skip to content

My life at ILRI

October 3, 2009
Meskel flower on my walk

Meskel flower on my walk

I went on a walk today, taking pictures of the ILRI campus where I’m staying. I put together a few albms:

ILRI Campus, or “My daily life.”

Then, I uploaded a bunch of other shots from our field visits to Debre Zeit and Koka Town. Please take a look, and enjoy! The captions are written for ones where it seemed logical and/or I wasn’t too tired, but as previously mentioned, it’s a lot easier to use Picasa than it is to upload pictures to the blog, so I’ll stick t that for now.

Well, the time seems to pass faster than I would have thought possible. I’ve been in Addis for 12 days now, and I feel like I got here just yesterday! My supervisor left for the States yesterday, so I’m on my own (work-wise) til she returns in three weeks. It’s very quiet here – today I went for a stroll and just enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. I’m hoping to go to the Sheraton pool tomorrow afternoon, after Mass.

Speaking of Mass – we found a really cute church downtown that conveniently has an English Mass in the mornings! The songs are all in Amharic and with a particularly Ethiopian flair, which I love, but the readings and homily are all in English, so I can both revel in the cultural experience without sacrificing my understanding of the day’s liturgy. (On a related note, I think St. Thérèse of Lisieux must really be praying for me: I haven’t felt so spiritually nourished since leaving College Station. For those of you who don’t know her, she was my confirmation saint, and her story is really inspirational – check her out!)

Anyways, I’m heading out the door with some friends for dinner and a movie (yeah, dinner and a movie…IN AFRICA!), so I’ll post more later, but enjoy the photos!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather Thomson permalink
    October 4, 2009 12:53 am

    It looks like you’re having a good time. The campus looks great.

  2. October 5, 2009 11:31 am

    Wow! I can not believe how different it looks after the rains there. A huge improvement.

Leave a Reply

