Skip to content

Dehnanesh? Dehena. Ishee.

September 25, 2009

How are you (female)? I am well. OK.

Koka Town

Koka Town

Today was our second day in the field, tracking down migrants from a village nearby. This is Koka Town, around 1.5 hour’s drive (in the rain) from Addis. One of the migrants relocated here from a rural village, so we found her a few minutes outside of town.

In the village.

In the village.

We actually had to walk quite a ways to find her, as you can see by the following picture.

Track in field. (The woman's too far away to even figure in this shot)

Track in field. (The woman's too far away to even figure in this shot)

There was a guy on a motorcycle who was evidently dispatched to remove a bunch of cows from the field of teff.Β He left his bike on the path, so it was well documented (the guy in the photo’s another researcher, not the cow guy).

Wanna take a ride?

Wanna take a ride?

This little girl, Eradit, was our tour guide. She found our migrant for us. She’s 5 years old, and speaks a little Amharic and Oromifa.

Eradit.

Eradit.

The migrant and her grandson.

The migrant and her grandson.

We went with the mirant to her home, where she produces these:

These are covers used to bake injera bread. These are covers used to bake injera bread.

They are, in fact, made of dung…but the injera we eat is not made this way. She sells these for money. The exchange rate, if you’re curious, is 12.58 Birr to the dollar. To give you some perspective, dinner (1 pizza + 4 beers) cost us 88 birr tonight. That’s less than $10.

Of course, all work and no play makes Lisa tired and cranky, so I had to get some shots with the kiddies. I wish I had a picture of the kids after this one – I showed them all the screen and they basically jumped me on the ground to get close enough to see. It was hilarious, and all the adults died laughing.

Pre-Lisa Is A Jungle Gym.

Pre-Lisa Is A Jungle Gym.

My coworkers, the field survey coordinator Seble and the project leader (the woman who got me this amazing opportunity) Valerie.

Seble's in the middle, Val's on the end.

Seble's in the middle, Val's on the end.

Tomorrow I’ll have more pictures, hopefully of the main market and religious celebration! No real tip tonight, because I’m zonked. πŸ™‚ Chau!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 25, 2009 4:03 pm

    wow! great pics! I love, love, love the one of you with all the kids and the one of Eradit.

  2. Kassu permalink
    September 25, 2009 7:08 pm

    Hey Lisa,
    U r really experienced the rural Ethiopia. How wonder you see the difference between US and ethiopia.
    You take care about the malaria in a place you are now as it’s a rift valley plain.
    i missed the survey mood you’ve now. i saw in the picture one of the enumerators-solomon whom worked with me in the last survey.
    anyway enjoy the hospitality and the food.

    • lisam permalink
      September 26, 2009 9:16 am

      Hi Kassu!! I’m so glad you found the blog, and that you commented. Ethiopia is amazing – I really love it here, and I bet you do miss the survey mood! I did meet Solomon, and Aweke and Mogues too! We had a great time, and they spoke very kindly of you. Hope you’re enjoying the weather – it’s Meskel today, and we saw the big bonfire being set up. We’ll attend the party tonight, and eat injera and have a great time, I’m hoping. πŸ™‚ Take care!

  3. Nathalea permalink
    September 26, 2009 6:34 am

    Yesterday, i looked at you blog. I have never been to a blog before. Randy showed me how to save it as a favorite. Last night I showed it to your Grandma before the football game. (They won.)
    Wow, I always thought you were smart and beautiful, but know I have it in print. They must call you flour meaning flower.
    Your grandma was beaming as she read it. When she comes over next I will let her catch up on your blog.
    Again, I am so proud of you. Your are doing great things. Try to get some rest at night.

    • lisam permalink
      September 26, 2009 9:21 am

      Awww, thanks, Nathalea!! I’m so glad you found it, and that Tim won, and that you showed it to Grandma. I’ll keep up the shots then, so you can share it with them. I miss you guys!! Want me to bring you anything??

      • Nathalea permalink
        September 27, 2009 3:17 pm

        Just you health and wise. The pictures ar truely great.

  4. September 26, 2009 2:45 pm

    You’re in Africa, Lisa! AFRICA! I think that’s the first time I’ve ever been able to say that to anyone. What an amazing life you lead! I’m in awe!

Leave a Reply

