Skip to content

Meet a Pita.

August 30, 2009

(Yeah, OK, whatever, I thought it was funny).

Not a long one tonight – I’m exhausted after having spent 6 hours helping a friend move (not the friend’s fault – seemed like everything was fighting against our successful completion of the move today) so I’ll just keep it short and sweet.

Pita

Pita

My friend Sarah has a food and fashion blog (and is featured in my Friendblogs section) which I read on a constant basis (thank goodness for Google Reader, my friends, thank goodness). A few weeks ago, she promised to get around to posting a bread-related recipe for me, since I’ve not had as much practice with yeast as I’d like.

I’ll not include the recipe here, as it is very precisely laid out on her blog (go read the post), but I will tell you that if you follow her instructions, you’re almost guaranteed to succeed. Wahoo! Fresh bread for all!

Floury is almost as good as sugary...almost.

Floury is almost as good as sugary...almost.

Of course, however, I felt a need to make things more complicated for myself. I made the dough per the instructions – let it rise, cut it down to 8 balls, then let the balls of dough rest for the requisite 20 minutes. At that point, however, I knew 8 pitas was going to be too much for little ole me (ha, these aren’t cupcakes after all…) so I decided to freeze 4 of the doughs and prepare the other 4 for dinner tonight and lunch/dinner tomorrow. I did some googling and discovered that bread dough can be frozen (evidently it puts the yeast “to sleep”, leaving it to wake up the next time you defrost it. Score!

So now I’ve got 3 fresh pitas (I ate one for dinner) in a bag plus two extra Ziplocs (lightly oiled with olive oil) with two balls of dough each! I’ll let you know how the frozen ones come out.

Look for a post or two reviewing this season’s Restaurant Week – I’ve got some good pictures, and a good idea of which restaurants I’d spend money in again. Have a great week, readers!

MAJORLY huge and awesome Tip of the Sunday (no pictures, sorry):  Make Your Own Microwave Popcorn!

The website has a better explanation, but essentially you just take a brown paper sack, put a handful (however much you want) of popping corn kernels into the bag, fold the top down a couple of times, and heat in the microwave! I just sortof guessed a time, and then stood by and listened for the pops to slow down.

Once it’s done, stick it in a bowl and put some kind of topping on! I used the last of my most recent batch of homemade buttah, but will try the cool ideas listed, in addition to brewer’s yeast, which my roommate has recommended we try.

SO much better for you (or at least…less bad for you) than the store-bought kind, and you can make it yourself! One 1 lb. bag of those popping corn kernels will last a lot longer than a box of popcorn, believe you me. And you can control the portion size (since who can throw away half a bag of popcorn? Not me.). Enjoy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah permalink
    August 30, 2009 10:21 pm

    Just re-read the popcorn thing. I will definitely be trying it. Conveniently, I just ran across this earlier today:

    http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/chile-lime-tequila-popcorn-recipe.html

    • lisam permalink
      August 31, 2009 12:55 pm

      Awesome! And that sounds really delicious – you’ll have to let me know how it is.

  2. Geoff permalink
    August 30, 2009 10:37 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try the peanut butter popcorn thing ever since I read it the other day. Also, thanks for the tip about freezing dough, I’m going to try it next time I make pizza dough/focaccia.

    • lisam permalink
      August 31, 2009 12:55 pm

      No worries, Geoff! Enjoy.

Trackbacks

  1. Not-out-of-a-plastic-bag sandwich bread « Sugar and Shoes

Leave a Reply

