Skip to content

And the winner is…

August 28, 2009

Lemon Sugar Cookies!

Lemony Texas

Lemony Texas

The base for this recipe is hinged upon lemon zest, particularly of the Meyer lemon variety. Unfortunately (for me), my local Harris Teeter was not well equipped in the Meyer lemon department, so I just got the regular type. Using my fantastical new citrus zester:

My favorite kitchen tool of the week.

My favorite kitchen tool of the week.

I used the zest of half of one lemon for the cookies themselves, and the zest from the other half, plus the juice, for the icing.

Lemon

Zesty flour

Zesty flour

The cookies were delicious – the dough incorporates the zest nicely, and by itself tastes quite lemony.

Batter

Batter

However, I do have some recommendations.

1. Include some lemon juice in the batter itself – as mentioned, they tasted lemony enough, but once you add the lemon glaze the cookies are a bit overwhelmed by the glaze, and could use a little boost.

2. After I finished mixing the dough (I did end up adding a bit of milk to the batter, as the recipe suggests), I put the log onto some parchment paper.

Log o' dough.

Log o' dough.

Sugar cookie recipes are varied on the next few steps, so I’ll tell you what worked best for me. I cut the dough in half, placed each section of dough between two sheets of parchmet paper, and rolled it out between the two sheets.

Next, and pay attention – it’s different – I placed the rolled out dough into the freezer for 5-10 minutes each. This helps the dough get firm enough to lift, which is important when you’re cutting the dough with the cutters. When I tried it per the recipe, I ended up with partial Texases (Texae?) and a giant mess, so this step was crucial to the final result.

Rolled-out dough

Rolled-out dough

3. As you can see below, cutting the cookies to the correct thicknes (1/8 in.) is important. If you’re not precise, you’ll end up with poofed up cookies, which your officemates will mistake for sheep, rather than the Lone Star State.

Sheep

Sheeeebie sheebie sheebies!

The lemon glaze was particularly delicious, and made a nice texture to the final cookie.

Mmmm!

Mmmm!

So, all in all, a delicious choice!

For you foodie picture lovers, I’ll include just a few more shots, both of the cookies and of another dessert I made, cinnamon sugar pecans:

Texas cookies

Texas cookies

Pecans

Pecans

Cinnamon Sugary Delicious

Cinnamon Sugary Delicious

Delicious

Delicious

For the cinnamon sugar pecans, take around 16 oz of pecans, put them in a shallow pan (only one layer of pecans) and pour around 3 T of melted butter over the nuts. For these, I used my fresh butter from the weekend. Sprinkle with kosher salt and put the pecans into the oven at 275°. After 15 minutes, give them a good stir through, then leave them in for another 15-20 minutes.

After they’re basically done, I mixed some cinnamon and sugar (both white and brown sugars) together in a bowl, added about 1 T of melted butter and enough water to make it runny. Pour the mixture over the nuts, mix it up real good again, then put them back in a 300° oven for like…7 minutes. Finally, when they come out, toss them with some more cinnamon and sugar (gives them a nice texture).

Enjoy!

Also – quick Tip of the Week: if you live in DC, you’ve got a couple more days of Restaurant Week left. Get out there and try some delicious foods!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink
    August 29, 2009 7:16 pm

    I love the new layout! Excuse me if it has been a while since the change, but I think it suits the blog well.

    p.s. That Texas cookie will likely always be remembered… 😉

    • lisam permalink
      August 29, 2009 7:48 pm

      Thanks for the compliment on the layout, Victoria! It hasn’t actually been that long – just a week or so. I was looking for something better and as all the themes are canned ones from WordPress, I just have to go along with what’s available. Glad to hear you like it!

Leave a Reply

