Skip to content

Washington’s Green Grocer

July 28, 2009

Well, I’ve been waiting for this for a while. Fresh produce. Delivered to my door.

Mystery box

Mystery box

HECK YES!

Last week, I received my first installment from Washington’s Green Grocer. This is an awesome group of people who are trying to increase the use of locally sourced produce. I should make a quick note here – not all of their products are locally sourced (as will be readily obvious in my list of produce), but they make a significant effort to find local producers, which I love.

Produce!

Produce!

The way it works is, you sign up for the service, provide your credit card information, and the Monday of your delivery week they send you a list of the items they will be delivering. On their website you can select certain items you always want, never want, or want to switch out for extra of something else (i.e. this week, Emily has requested a double batch of baby bella mushrooms in lieu of zucchini). The best part? You can opt in and out, with no commitment! That means that if you want to have veggies and fruit delivered weekly, every other week, once a month, or just want to try it out once, no problemo!

Produce, up close.

Produce, up close.

They deliver on a set schedule – between 11AM and 6PM on the day of delivery. They operate in Maryland, D.C., and Virginia, and the way they make that happen is by delivering at their own pace and speed, so you can’t pick your delivery time. They will leave it with your front desk, on your porch, or with a neighbor, so they’re pretty flexible.

Without further ado, I shall now give you the list of items in my box of fresh produce.

Small Mix: $30.25

3 nectarines

3 peaches

4 bananas

5 black plums

1 pint of blueberries

1 pint of grape tomatoes

3 cucumbers

2 yellow squash

1 head of red leaf lettuce

4 beets (with stems on)

1 lb. green beans

3 white potatoes (seriously weighing like 1 lb. each)

So, as you can see, it’s enough produce for 2 people to cook with for a week. If you’re on the fence about produce delivery, I can attest – this one’s a winner. Go for it!

Now: a quick question.

BEETS!

BEETS!

Does anyone know how to cook these? I’ve been told to roast them, then use them in borscht or similar, but I’m not enthused with this idea (I don’t particularly care for cold soups, though I know my roommate loves them, so maybe we’ll do it anyways). Let me know!

And in case this is too much healthiness for the blog for one day, here is a cupcake montage. Cupcakes by Hello Cupcake (not me).

Bags of cupcakes

Bags of cupcakes

Cupcakes

Cupcakes

You Tart!, and Triple Coconut

You Tart!, and Triple Coconut

Look for more posts this week after I head to Texas for a wedding and my dad’s birthday party!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 28, 2009 8:01 pm

    YAY!! Cupcakes in a bag! 🙂

    And the produce looks good – I will definitely be trying that out when I get back.

    Have a great trip!

    • lisam permalink
      July 28, 2009 8:07 pm

      Awesome! And yes – Melissa is responsible for the cupcake pictures – they were her idea. 🙂

  2. July 28, 2009 8:28 pm

    ooh! I’m digging it. We’re considering getting that every now and again once I start work in the fall. Thanks for the post! I didn’t really how much food it would be!

    • lisam permalink
      July 29, 2009 8:52 am

      My pleasure, Monica! Glad you’re considering it. And yes. It’s a TON of food. We’re still not done eating our way through it, and it’s already time for our next installment! I’ll be sure to post update pictures this afternoon. 🙂

  3. July 29, 2009 12:39 pm

    Hi Lisa!

    Great looking produce! I recommend the Nourishing Traditions cookbook (http://www.amazon.com/dp/0967089735?tag=homesweetfarm-20&camp=14573&creative=327641&linkCode=as1&creativeASIN=0967089735&adid=1FWGZEWB0EV0N5N2MMCH&#reader). You can search the text online at Amazon and find a few good beet recipes.

    Also, if you start craving some fresh produce when you’re visiting your folks, check out Homesweet Farm http://www.homesweetfarm.com/index.htm

    • lisam permalink
      July 30, 2009 8:32 am

      Agh! Soooo many awesome recipes!! Thanks, Jon!!!

Leave a Reply

