Skip to content

Peach Honey Ice Cream

July 22, 2009

This weekend for Jessica’s birthday we went out west to visit the Barrel Oak Winery and Three Fox Vineyards. After a fun and enjoyable lunch and wine tasting, Jessica and I meandered further out I-66 to visit Hartland Orchards, a pick-your-own fruit establishment. Unfortunately for us, we were too tired/sleepy to pick the fruit ourselves, but fortunately for us, the sweet little old woman had a few half pecks of freshly ripe peaches to sell.

Yum.

Yum.

She also had jars of honey for sale, locally produced (though what kind of honey is unknown), so of course I snatched one up.

Honey honey

Honey honey

So what do I do with half a peck of peaches who are about to go overripe and a fresh jar of honey? Peach Honey Ice Cream, of course!

This whole honey peach ice cream obsession started out as a result of Tuesdays with Dorie, a collaborative effort of a ton of blogs who are working their way through Dorie Greenspan’s book, “Baking: from My Home to Yours.” I love this approach to cooking/baking: taking a cookbook, a set period of time, dividing up the recipes, and sharing the results. It gives you a lot of options to see how things turn out, what problems other cooks and bakers find with recipes, and see pictures of the steps/final results.

The most well-known of these is the basis for the new film Julie & Julia, which I will most definitely be seeing. The book is written by Julie Powell, and is based on her blog (go watch the movie trailer for a great summary). I love this idea, not least because it highlights the amazing contribution one of the most influential women in cooking. But all this is beside the point.

Peaches. And Ice Cream.

Peaches. And Ice Cream.

SO. After having heard about Dorie Greenspan’s Honey Peach Ice Cream all over the foodblogosphere, I decided to make my own version. Dorie’s recipe isn’t available online (and I’m not fortunate enough to own her book), so I had to cobble together a few recipes to do this one. I took it mostly from David Lebovitz’ vanilla ice cream recipe, but added the peach puree and honey, based on this honey ice cream recipe and the general chatter about Dorie’s recipe.

Peach Honey Ice Cream

4 Peaches, peeled and quartered

1/2 c. honey*

1/2 c. sugar

Pinch of salt

1 c. milk

5 egg yolks

2 c. heavy cream

2 tsp. vanilla

Put your peaches in a blender/food processor and whiz them up good. I left a few chunky bits for texture, but a straight-up puree is fine. Add the honey to the peaches and mix it up.

Stir together the milk, salt, and sugar in a heavy saucepan on the stove.

Milk, sugar and salt

Milk, sugar and salt

Scramble the egg yolks in a bowl (a big one – you need the space) then add the peach puree and vanilla.

Egg yolks, peach puree (with honey), vanilla

Egg yolks, peach puree (with honey), vanilla

Now comes the tricky part. Bring the milk mixture to a slow simmer (basically so it’s really warm), then pour about a cup of it into the bowl with the egg yolks, stirring quickly. This brings the egg yolks to a warmer temperature, without cooking them too quickly (or leaving you with egg chunks). Once your egg yolk mixture is warmish, pour the whole thing back into the milk pot, turn the heat back on, and bring it back up to a simmer.

Custard

Custard

Stirring constantly, keep the pot at a simmer (NOT a boil) until it’s basically done. This is just to make sure the eggs get cooked all the way – the seeming consensus (online) was to bring the custard to 175 degrees, and keep it there for 4 minutes, checking until the custard coats the back of a spoon. I had a hard time getting it to thicken, largely because of the peaches (I think), so I just kept stirring until I was comfortable with the level of cooking of eggs.

Once the custard is finished, pour it onto the 2 c. of heavy cream, which I had sitting in an ice bath.

Ice bath

Ice bath

Then, you basically wait til its cold, stick the metal bowl in the freezer, and follow David Lebovitz’s steps for freezing. I checked it at 45 minutes, then every half hour, sticking it under the KitchenAid to break up the chunks. I left it in the freezer for about 2.5 hours, but then had to go to bed. I think if I had kept going for 30 minute increments the resulting ice cream would have been creamier, but as it was, this is what I woke up to this morning:

Peach Honey Ice Cream

Peach Honey Ice Cream

The ice cream was perfect in flavor – very creamy, peachy, and tasted heavily of vanilla honey (yum!). I gobbled it down for breakfast!

Wanna bite?

Wanna bite?

You could also consider adding whole pieces of peach, during the last 2 minutes of freezing, if you like whole chunks of fruit. Enjoy the recipe!

* I wasn’t sure about the sweetener for this ice cream – I saw some all-honey and some all-sugar recipes, so in the end, I decided that based on the sweetness of the peaches themselves (which were very juicy but not altogether sweet) I should keep at least some refined white sugar, so I came up with this 1 to 1 ratio of honey to sugar. It definitely worked, but it definitely would have been appropriate to use all honey for this particular recipe, or maybe 3/4 cup honey to 1/4 cup sugar. Just wanted to make a note!

Mmmm

Mmmm

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Melissa Lambert permalink
    July 22, 2009 11:32 am

    ahhh! looks so good!

    btw – did you know that julia child was a spy?

    • lisam permalink
      July 22, 2009 11:33 am

      I did! And that totally raises her awesomeness (in my opinion). SO COOL.

  2. Jessica permalink
    July 24, 2009 12:36 pm

    YUMMMMMMMMMMMM!!!! I heart homemade peach ice cream x10. So I’m sure this was GLORIOUS!

    I accidentally let one of the peaches mold in the audit room this week…oops 🙂

    • lisam permalink
      July 24, 2009 12:37 pm

      Haha – way to waste perfectly good fruit, Jessica! 🙂

      If you’re lucky, I’ll let you try some ice cream tonight!

  3. John permalink
    August 4, 2009 12:10 am

    LM – Loving this blog, although my office-life is brought into glaring perspective as I’ve certainly never received a random, paper-wrapped box of super good-eat ingredients.

    I DID, however, recently come upon an ice cream maker. Then a random friend dropped by after hitting up his uncle’s orchard one state over: PEACHES! Maybe. I’ll make. My own!

    Thanks for the words! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Brain malfunction: EXPLOSION OF AWESOME!!! « A Cupcake in Paris

Leave a Reply

