Skip to content

I just got a present!

July 22, 2009

I just received a package in the mail at work, covered in simple brown wrapping, and smelling faintly of aromatherapy. What is this mystery package, you ask? I asked the same thing, particularly as I didn’t recognize the sender’s address (though it’s a swanky enough downtown one for me to trust it not to have been a gift from the Unabomber).

I was delighted to find, upon opening the box, that it was a foodie gift from friend of the blog Rob, who writes his own food blog of sorts through Facebook’s Notes system.

Rob and I have exchanged recipes and baking stories for a few months now, and following our conversations about how impossible it is to find the perfect vanilla cupcake recipe (and my reasoning for using crappy food colorings due to my own lack of funds), Rob decided to take pity on me and send me the following pick-me-up box!

The box contained:

Coloring gel paste

AmeriColor gel paste

Six AmeriColor gel pastes. Gel pastes, which I’ve mentioned previously in my Bastille Day cupcake post, are perfect for cake batters, as they’re stronger than normal food colorings (don’t require the same amount, keeps the batter the correct consistency, etc.). AmeriColor is The Brand for coloring pastes, so I am so excited to now have a full set to play with! The colors I received were Orange, Leaf Green, Red Red (so red, it’s named TWICE!), Royal Blue, Lemon Yellow (perfect for my new Lemon Cream Cheese Cupcakes!), and Violet.

And the other thing in the box, which made my entire office smell of candles and lotion…

…the holy grail…

…something for which I have already, in the 5 minutes it’s taken me to post this, thought up at least 10 recipes to use…:

SIX. MADAGASCAR. BOURBON. VANILLA. BEANS.

...drumroll please...

Six. Madagascar. Bourbon. Vanilla. Beans. SIX!!! The last bottle I had only contained TWO – count them TWO – shriveled little measley sticks that wished they were bean pods, and now I’m the proud owner of six beautiful, plump, bean pods, who can’t WAIT to jump into a bowl of sugar (vanilla sugar anyone?), my next cupcake batter, my next batch of ice cream, and my first attempt at crême brulée (which you knew HAD to be coming, right?).

AAAAAAAGH! I think this may be the best surprise I’ve ever had! I can’t wait to get started baking. Too bad it’s only 3:32 PM and I still have 2 more hours of actual “work” left…

Thanks, Rob! Gold star.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 22, 2009 4:41 pm

    ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh…

    For me, that would be like receiving 5 dozen gladiolus corms in the mail, along with seeds for heirloom tomatoes. I feel your joy 🙂

  2. Alejandra permalink
    July 22, 2009 8:19 pm

    Oh Lisa, knowing your joy and that it was caused by a random nice gesture totally made me smile. I love little things that make such a difference. I hope your recipes turn out great and we get to read about them later 🙂

  3. Geoff permalink
    July 23, 2009 12:28 am

    Lemon Cream Cheese Cupcakes? That sounds amazing. Wish you were already in Houston, Lise. I would have smuggled you out some of the amazing birthday cake that my mom made my dad. (Made with fresh strawberries and cream)

Trackbacks

  1. Surprise Birthday Gift!!! « A Cupcake in Paris

Leave a Reply

