Skip to content

In Lieu of Ice Cream

July 21, 2009

Well, I’m sitting here waiting for my peach honey ice cream to freeze and I thought I’d post a pictorial of my weekend celebrating Jessica’s birthday in Virginia!

Picnic!

Picnic!

We started the day out with a jaunt around Del Ray, to visit Cheesetique (which I’ve mentioned before), ACKC for some macarons by Michel, and St. Elmo’s Coffee Pub for a cuppa joe. We snagged some delicious cheese, salame, olives, and crackers from Cheesetique and then hit the road for Barrel Oak Winery.

I’d visited the winery last weekend with Anna and her BF, so I knew Jessica would love their outdoor patio. I had also put together a special birthday treat (which I was practicing for with my Bastille Day cupcakes) so we had the makings of a fantastic summer picnic. Instead of the fantastically priced $10 tasting (for 14 wines!), Jessica and I elected to buy a glass each of wine, to drink leisurely with our lunch, so we could then hop on to our next stop, Three Fox Vineyards. More on that in a few.

Our picnic:

Meat!

Meat!

Beecher cheddar

Beecher cheddar

A sheep's milk manchego alternative.

A sheep's milk manchego alternative.

Smoked Gouda

Smoked Gouda

Olive Mix

Olive Mix

Australiana Crispbreads!

Australiana Crispbreads!

Traminette - a tasty white.

Traminette - a tasty white.

Don't ask me the name. I just ate it.

Don't ask me the name. I just ate it.

Goat cheese, a particularly delicious one with a line of ash down the middle.

Goat cheese, a particularly delicious one with a line of ash down the middle.

Cupcake!

Cupcake!

Since I’ve gotten the question, yes, I made these cupcakes myself. They were a second attempt from the Bastille Day cupcakes – the coloring turned out great, though I goofed on the ingredients (added a whole stick of butter when the recipe called for 6T…ah well). I was trying to capture the perfect vanilla cupcake, so following one of the recipes I found online, I tried adding a bit of lemon extract, but they came out too lemony, so they ended up being Lemon Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Icing.

Interior Cupcakes

Interior Cupcakes

Then we went to Three Fox Vineyards. The wines were so-so, but the views wonderful.

Three Fox Vineyards

Three Fox Vineyards

Flying Pig

Flying Pig

Yes. It's a spittoon. Or whatever the wine snobs call it.

Yes. It's a spittoon. Or whatever the wine snobs call it.

And then? We called it a day. And retired to Jessica’s hotel room. Jessica was a guest of the Hotel Monaco, a very cute property in Old Town Alexandria. As Jessica has a puppy at home, she received a companion fish courtesy of the hotel! She named him Gerard.

The fishie!

The fishie!

And that concludes our photo montage of the weekend. Stay tuned for ice cream pics!!!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Colette permalink
    July 21, 2009 9:42 pm

    I just ate dinner but now I’m hungry all over again. 😉

  2. Melissa Lambert permalink
    July 22, 2009 11:33 am

    ummmm… yum. yum. yum.

    amazing.

    and nice pics.

Leave a Reply

