Skip to content

Texas…my home.

April 18, 2009

Well, after a careful two months of planning, I have finally arrived in Texas to surprise my mother for her birthday. In typical Houston fashion, this was the weather that waited patiently for me to land at IAH before dumping the entire contents of the sky on my head:

Rainclouds

Rainclouds

I mean – literally – the sky has been POURING out rain and hail for the last 24 hours straight, and will continue to do so until tomorrow. Yippee. Woo. Fun.

 

But, despite the horrific weather, we’ve still had some delicious food:

Scallops!

Scallops!

and…

Tilapia!

Tilapia!

Both were had at the delicious restaurant Pappadeaux (if you’re ever in Texas or another state that has one, give it a try – creole style seafood, a bit pricey, but worth it) on I-45 in the Woodlands. I had the New Orleans Jazz Scallops (top), which featured giant sea scallopstopped with fresh ginger and a ginger butter sauce (uh…YUM), and was served with fresh snappy green beans and that bizarre vegetable, spaghetti squash. Dad had the Costa Rican Tilapia, naked style (oh how risqué!) served with sautéed zucchini ribbons. And I have to give a shout-out to Pappadeaux – my dad has an allergy to garlic and onion, so we’re always careful to request that any sauce that comes with his meal be sans both. Well, this was evidently a great challenge for them, but they remade an entire butter sauce specifically for Dad, ensuring that there was no garlic or onion in the seasoning for the fish or the butter sauce, and the end result was actually quite tasty!
No tip today, because we’re running late for lunch at Grandma and Grandpa’s, but I’m positive I’ll have some luscious pictures of deliciousness when I return, so keep your eyes peeled.
On another note, Happy Birthday (one day late, but I called her the day-of) to my best friend (since kindergarten!)  Merideth! I hope the next year is fantastic.
3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2009 5:57 pm

    I hope you are ready for more rain upon your arrival in DC. It is super yucky here.

  2. Douglas permalink
    May 10, 2009 11:26 am

    Wow, that is truly drool material!

  3. Merideth permalink
    August 31, 2009 11:05 pm

    aw yay! I just realized I got a shout out on the infamous blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

