Skip to content

Do they really serve cupcakes in Paris?

April 1, 2009

Well, after months and months of ravenously gobbling up food blogs like Clotilde’s Chocolate & Zucchini or Adam’s temporary stay-at-home-Dad project, I’ve decided to bite the bullet and join the blogging community. I think technically this is my second foray into the world of the Blog, but unlike my first angst-ridden Freshman year chronicles of dorm life, this is intended to funnel my inner monologue into something semi-useful to those interested in cooking, eating, and travel, and also to give my family (and friends) back in Texas a chance to taste life in our nation’s capital, and anywhere else fate happens to take me.

Initially I thought I would open with a hearty “I wish I’d done this years ago!” but instead, I like to think of the last five to ten years as research: research for what might be interesting to people living outside my head, rather than what’s interesting to me inside my head. I’ve found myself the last few weeks subconsciously planning blog posts, with recipes, helpful links, and witticisms (some better than others), so in this my inaugural post, I begin this adventure in blogging with the hopes that at least someone will find this useful, or at the very least, entertaining.

As a part of this inaugural posting, I also pledge to you, my readers, whoever you may be, that I will include at least one useful tip, recipe, link or review in each posting, in a vain attempt at validating the existence online of my inner monologue. These tips will be included at the end of each posting, under the unimaginative heading “Tip of the day.” If I think of something more creative, I’ll be sure to include it, but for the time being, the creation of this blog is enough.

I hope you enjoy what you see, feel free to skip around or go chronologically – if you’re interested in a topic, comment on it, and if you feel there’s something I’ve missed, help yourself to pointing it out.

Tip of the day: Cherry Blossoms. They’re bursting forth all over DC, showering my walk to work with their tiny snowflakes of spring. For a very useful guide to the Cherry Blossom festivities in the DC area (and some pretty daily shots of the best ones), visit the Washington Post’s Going Out Guide.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Victoria permalink
    April 5, 2009 5:56 pm

    Hey Lisa, so I have a question: why wordpress.com? I am not familiar with this site and am interested as to why you chose this rather than another blogging service.

    • lisamoorman permalink
      April 7, 2009 9:02 pm

      Hey Victoria! Great question (apologies for the long response-time – I’ve been busy, as you well know).

      Basically I did a little bit of research into which blogs looked more professional versus Myspace-y, and I looked into what each of the blog servers were known for, and for whatever reason, WordPress seemed to just fit my mental juju at the time. I definitely have found some faults with the setup, but I like it enough to stay (for now, anyway).

      The list I used was from this Wikipedia article.

      Hope that answers your question – there’s no real reason, it just felt less college dorm-y than the others.

  2. December 5, 2009 8:42 am

    Hi Lisa,

    I’m Leesa, too! I just found your blog, by chance.. I was searching cupcakes in Paris.. I’m American and live 20 minutes outside of Paris with my hubby (who is French) AND I bake a lot… esp. CUPCAKES.. and other American baked goods. I have tried all the cupcake places so far in Paris (that I know of) and was trying to find more.
    Two of my students (I used to teach baking classes) opened a gelateria in Paris and they are serving up cupcakes, too! They’re really good.. and their gelato is the BEST.. They make it themselves… Anyhow.. I am going to keep an eye on your blog…
    Take care and nice to meet you, Leesa

    • lisam permalink
      January 8, 2010 12:16 pm

      This is just too cool – love it! You’ll have to tell me the name of the gelateria (I’m happy to support them on the blog!) so the next time I’m in Paris I can give it a try! Enjoy Paris in the winter – hope you’re staying warm out there.

  3. Von Nguyen permalink
    January 23, 2010 3:49 pm

    Hi Lisa,
    It’s your OLD friend here from middle school! Just wanted to say i LOVE your blog! It’s super fun and catchy. I’ve been too lazy to start up my own but I’m focusing more on actually baking the cupcakes! Anyway, hope all is well in D.C. I love that city! Take care and best wishes on your blog.

    Von

    • lisam permalink
      January 23, 2010 3:52 pm

      Aw, thanks so much, Von! It’s so great to hear from you! Haha, I’m glad you like it – I know the feeling about being lazy, but it’s a total addiction. Once you start, it’s like you can’t stop! Anyways, thanks for stopping by! And if you bake up something tasty, send me some pictures! I’d totally give you a guest spot. 🙂

      • February 12, 2010 2:14 am

        Well, I finally decided to regularly update my blog! I even mentioned you in my first “official” update. Check it out here: http://bit.ly/superpound. However, the best cupcakes I make are my Red Velvet Annies which I posted about too. I hope you are okay in D.C. with all that crazy weather!

Trackbacks

  1. Spring… « A Cupcake in Paris

Leave a Reply

