Skip to content

Happy Friday!

April 23, 2010
tags:

Happy Friday, y'all!

Toffee crunch cupcakes! I made these with a few special surprises. First off, I found TOFFEE ESSENCE! As in Georgetown Cupcakes-inspired toffee INFUSED cream cheese frosting, people. Ah! So delicious.

As for the cake, I went back through my vanilla cupcake archives and settled on this recipe, with a few small substitutions. I picked it almost 100% on the basis of buttermilk, because I bought a quart to make Melissa’s cupcakes on Saturday and I hate wasting food. But also it was part of the original list Rob and I came up with for the vanilla cupcake wars, and I had always wondered what a cupcake with baking soda would taste like.

As for the substitutions, first off, I used only 3/4 tsp vanilla (don’t ask me why, it just felt right). Then I supplemented with 1/4 tsp English toffee essence. It’s SUPER concentrated flavor, so you don’t need much.

I also added some homemade toffee candy to the batter, right before putting them in the cups. I used this recipe for the toffee, though I messed it up. As you can see, Chockylit lets her toffee get muy muy brown. Personally, I was concerned about the brittleness of the toffee (I’d baked with Heath bar “Bit O’ Brickle” toffee bits in the past and they almost ripped my teeth out), plus I was worried about a massive boil-over on the stove.  So I kept the heat too low, and essentially ended up with completely sticky tooth-removing caramel. Which I covered with melted artisan milk chocolate (thanks, Mom!) then put in the fridge to harden anyway.

These were very tender cupcakes – almost too tender, truth be told. I didn’t read that last line about “let them sit for 10 minutes in the muffin pan” and completely destroyed the first one I pulled out because of it. So, LET THEM SIT. They need the time to get used to the separation anxiety.

The result?

A bit on the messy side.

The caramel melted into the cupcake, which was a delicious accident, but I neglected to toss the pieces of not-really “toffee” in flour beforehand, so they all sank to the bottom. No worries, just a little bit difficult to eat by hand. Nothing a spoon and a little elbow grease on the part of the consumer can’t fix. And honestly, I’m never opposed to eating cupcakes with a spoon. It just feels right. I can’t explain it. But it does.

As for the frosting, I used my go-to cream cheese one, which is a slight modification of the Georgetown Cupcake vanilla frosting (modified, that is, for the lazy and impatient who don’t have time to measure 6 oz. of cream cheese and who have no room in their lives for the random extra 2 oz. of cream cheese that recipe always leaves in its wake):

Lisa’s Lazy Cream Cheese Frosting

1 package (8 oz.) cream cheese, room temperature

1/2 stick (4 T) unsalted butter, room temperature

1 box powdered sugar (plus more if it looks like it needs it. Very scientific, I know)

This recipe is great because it’s so easy to add flavor to! Vanilla? Add a teaspoon. Lemon, lime, orange? Add a couple tablespoons of zest! Toffee? Add a few (very, very few) drops toffee essence.

I sprinkled a crushed up Heath bar on top after piping, just to copy Georgetown even more, and to push it just over the top. Crunch-ay. I could eat this frosting with a spoon. And did.

Doesn't it look like froyo?

So there you have it! Toffee crunch cupcakes.

Guess how many I had left as of 10AM this morning?

One. :)

Happy happy Friday! Hope you’ve got some glorious plans going. Me, I’ll be packing for ETHIOPIA AND EUROPE! Finally! NO more ash clouds, please. Kthanksbye.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    April 23, 2010 10:05 am

    These were the best you’ve made yet!

    • Cupcake permalink*
      April 23, 2010 10:09 am

      Awww, thanks, Emily! I’m glad you liked them. :)

  2. Nathalea permalink
    May 1, 2010 10:16 pm

    I want one. They look great.
    Do you want to go to UMArmy jUNE 27 TO jULY 3

  3. May 5, 2010 1:10 pm

    Come back and make another batch of these… please?!!

  4. October 7, 2011 9:28 am

    Glad you enjoyed these. I just finished eating one made from a local bakery. I agree with you 100% on eating a cupcake with a spoon (at least when I am in the passenger seat of a moving vehicle). My s.o. however gave me a weird look on using a spoon to eat. But then she has opinions on anything!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

